Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
2 registered (mapatton, Ajax), 51 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13313 Members
11 Forums
22855 Topics
403813 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17755
pmbuko 16268
SirQuack 13325
CV 11171
MarkSJohnson 10856
Meanwhile On Facebook

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Get a Gift Card Worth 20% of Your Purchase! Save hundreds!

Got your new In-Ceiling speakers yet? #atmosready http://axiomaudio.com/m3-in-c...

(y) Can't wait for the next evolution of surround sound to go mainstream!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#318347 - 08/12/10 08:54 AM EP350v3 Power Cord
smaggard Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 03/30/10
Posts: 19
Hi,

I recently purchased a pre owned EP350v3 and it arrived with no power cord. I have not yet heard back from the seller, perhaps he has it, but being UPS put a huge gash in the box I fear it fell out in shipment. Luckily the unit looks perfect but I am unable to test it without power obviously. The plug appears to be the same as a desktop pc and some monitors....is this right? Can I use one of these grounded cables or is this a special Axiom cable that they make just for subs?
Any info on this would be great! Happy to become a member of the Axiom family finally! smile
thanks!

Scott

Top
#318348 - 08/12/10 09:07 AM Re: EP350v3 Power Cord [Re: smaggard]
Philippe Offline
local

Registered: 07/01/09
Posts: 279
Any power cord should work. Original power cord is a 3x18awg.
_________________________
Nad C356 DAC & C515
Axiom M3v3
Grant Fidelity RPF-120 MKII
Analysis Plus Black Oval 12&10
JRiver 19

Top
#318349 - 08/12/10 09:07 AM Re: EP350v3 Power Cord [Re: Philippe]
smaggard Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 03/30/10
Posts: 19
Great thanks for the quick reply!

Top
#318351 - 08/12/10 09:13 AM Re: EP350v3 Power Cord [Re: smaggard]
Philippe Offline
local

Registered: 07/01/09
Posts: 279
No problem and welcome to the forum.
_________________________
Nad C356 DAC & C515
Axiom M3v3
Grant Fidelity RPF-120 MKII
Analysis Plus Black Oval 12&10
JRiver 19

Top
#318352 - 08/12/10 09:16 AM Re: EP350v3 Power Cord [Re: smaggard]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4077
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
There is nothing special or magical about the power cord Axiom supplies with the sub. Just use a 3 prong power cord (includes the ground) as the replacement. If you have an extra power cord from your computer or another device and if it is long enough that would be perfect.
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#318355 - 08/12/10 10:12 AM Re: EP350v3 Power Cord [Re: BlueJays1]
smaggard Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 03/30/10
Posts: 19
Thanks all! I do have an old cable so I was able to plug it in and see it powered on (although I don't have my receiver yet so no way to fully test but that made me happy enough).

I may need to run it longer to get to my conditioner so I may pick up a heavier gauge 15 footer on EBay since they can be had cheaply enough (14 gauge for like $10).

Thanks again!!

Scott

Top
#318357 - 08/12/10 10:49 AM Re: EP350v3 Power Cord [Re: smaggard]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4077
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#318358 - 08/12/10 10:58 AM Re: EP350v3 Power Cord [Re: smaggard]
alan Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3186
Loc: Toronto/New York/Dwight
Hi Scott,

It's a standard IEC 3-prong AC power cord.

Regards,
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert

Top
#318359 - 08/12/10 11:03 AM Re: EP350v3 Power Cord [Re: smaggard]
alan Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3186
Loc: Toronto/New York/Dwight
Scott,

Axiom advises against plugging its subwoofers and amplifiers into power conditioners, as the latter may limit current/voltage and cause problems with the subwoofer operation.

Besides, as JohnK will likely point out, the power supply of the subwoofer amplifier does all the "conditioning" required of the incoming AC signal.

Regards,
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert

Top
#318360 - 08/12/10 11:46 AM Re: EP350v3 Power Cord [Re: alan]
smaggard Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 03/30/10
Posts: 19
Great thanks for the advice Alan! Two of the outlets are labeled "hi current" and the manual states they do not limit current draw so I assumed that I should plug it into that port. However if Axiom recommends against it and the amp will be good and run better without doing this all the better (I don't need that long cord afterall). The PC is a Panamax 5100 BTW.

thanks again! smile

Scott

Originally Posted By: alan
Scott,

Axiom advises against plugging its subwoofers and amplifiers into power conditioners, as the latter may limit current/voltage and cause problems with the subwoofer operation.

Besides, as JohnK will likely point out, the power supply of the subwoofer amplifier does all the "conditioning" required of the incoming AC signal.

Regards,


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.