Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
2 registered (Da_Gimp_Pimp, Ken.C), 34 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13330 Members
11 Forums
22922 Topics
405243 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17791
pmbuko 16289
SirQuack 13341
CV 11237
MarkSJohnson 10942
Meanwhile On Facebook

☺ Wow - our 13,000 likes! Awesome! #thankful

Did you get your "Golden Email"? The great gift certificate email giveaway star...

Here's a helpful article for everyone looking at putting a new stereo or home th...

Interesting article about who's getting the money from streaming radio services...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#358521 - 11/11/11 03:54 PM Input selector needed
stermarc Offline
buff

Registered: 03/25/05
Posts: 41
Loc: Montana
I've had a pair of M3s for awhile and after setting up multiple systems around the house ended up hooking our old (late 70s) Kenwood KR2600 receiver to them. This setup is the sweetest these speakers have ever sounded -- better than all the digitals that preceded.

Problem-- the 2600 has very few inputs. In that room, I've wanted to play my Sirius radio hookup. However my Sirius hookup is to a Sony home theater receiver. On previous forum input I found I could do a "tape out" from the Sony cabled to the "tape in" port of the Kenwood to hear Sirius.

But when I do this, all other audio from the Kenwood sounds quite muffled, for lack of a better word. I tried a cheapo audio selector box that I got from Radio Shack a long time ago, but the other inputs still sounded muffled -- and the Sirius sounded very faint.

Is there a good audio switch that I could plug into the Kenwood Tape In that would really isolate the Sony when it's off and stop muffling the other inputs? I also have a cassette player that would utilize another port of a switch. And I'd tried a Y adapter to input both the cassette and Sony cables into the Kenwood's Tape In, but that produced the muffling of other devices too.

I'd like to have something that could keep everything attached instead of constantly attaching and removing the cables from the Sony everytime I want to listen to satellite radio ...

Top
#358568 - 11/12/11 04:04 PM Re: Input selector needed [Re: stermarc]
Andrew Offline
Axiom Engineer
veteran

Registered: 12/18/01
Posts: 177
I would try plugging the cables from your Sony into the AUX input on the Kenwood. If you still get a muffled sound the problem lies with the tape output on the Sony which might have a problem driving the long lines to the Kenwood. If you let me know what model your Sony is I can see if there is a better method of getting a signal to the Kenwood.

Top
#358714 - 11/15/11 01:24 PM Re: Input selector needed [Re: Andrew]
stermarc Offline
buff

Registered: 03/25/05
Posts: 41
Loc: Montana
OK, tried Sony into the AUX on Kenwood. Because there are so few inputs on the Kenwood, seemed like the only other source I could play to test with Sony into Aux was the phono. The sound reduction when plugging the Sony in and out of the Aux was pretty subtle (had to close my eyes and 'feel' it).

Thinking maybe less of a muffling because of the Kenwood's built-in phono capability (pre-amp?).

Change in sound was just as subtle with the tuner (also built in?)

So muffling much (much!) more pronounced with the Sony to Kenwood tape in and CD plugged into Kenwood's Aux, and playing a CD.

Sony is an STR-DH700.

Top
#358894 - 11/18/11 09:42 AM Re: Input selector needed [Re: stermarc]
Andrew Offline
Axiom Engineer
veteran

Registered: 12/18/01
Posts: 177
Strange...I can't see a Tape Out on the back of your Sony from the photos I found on the net?

Top
#358897 - 11/18/11 10:29 AM Re: Input selector needed [Re: Andrew]
stermarc Offline
buff

Registered: 03/25/05
Posts: 41
Loc: Montana
There is a Video 1 port divided into In and Out sections with yellow (composite) and red and white (audio) plugs. I believe for VCR use.

I assumed they were the same as tape in and out and used the audio portions to output the Sirius signal.

Top
#359497 - 11/27/11 05:49 PM Re: Input selector needed [Re: stermarc]
Andrew Offline
Axiom Engineer
veteran

Registered: 12/18/01
Posts: 177
Ok, got it now.
What happens if you plug your Sirius directly into the Kenwood? Also, what kind of output do you have on the Sirius unit?

Top
#360246 - 12/06/11 12:26 PM Re: Input selector needed [Re: Andrew]
stermarc Offline
buff

Registered: 03/25/05
Posts: 41
Loc: Montana
The Sirius plugs into the Sony with a round plug that has 8 pins inside, similar to an S-video plug. Because it can be controlled through the Sony receiver.

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.