Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
1 registered (wschwartz), 72 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13317 Members
11 Forums
22875 Topics
404260 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17768
pmbuko 16273
SirQuack 13333
CV 11195
MarkSJohnson 10878
Meanwhile On Facebook

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

A New Look For Our Amps and Pre-amps? Adding yet another level of customization...

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#389119 - 02/02/13 02:02 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13333
Loc: Iowa
Never had a single problem with phase using Audyssey, jm2C
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#389120 - 02/02/13 02:22 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: cohesion]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1024
If all four channels are out of phase they are in effect in phase relative to each other but may be reversed in polarity compared to any other channels. How many other channels are you using and how are they wired?[/quote]


I've swapped the four channels at the speaker(s) and now have correct sound and YPAO now confirms they're in phase.
I knew something was wrong, but I've never heard speakers that were wire wired incorrectly(not my own anyway.
Believe it or not, even out of phase they sounded better than the speakers they replaced.
_________________________
"...everything that goes through a tweaker's head that usually doesn't..."

Chesseroo

Top
#389122 - 02/02/13 02:35 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13333
Loc: Iowa
So YPAQ was accurate and not faulty, good to know it was not error prone.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#389123 - 02/02/13 04:10 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: SirQuack]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1024
Originally Posted By: PorterPlex
So YPAQ was accurate and not faulty, good to know it was not error prone.


It is error prone but never 4 at once. That and I couldn't get it to sound right.
During the last YPAO, the center was out. I hadn't changed the wiring or the speaker when installing the amp.
Not really a concern with one channel, its done it countless times before but never on multiple attempts or with more than one channel.
_________________________
"...everything that goes through a tweaker's head that usually doesn't..."

Chesseroo

Top
#389167 - 02/03/13 05:27 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13333
Loc: Iowa
Maybe YPAQ, never used that technology, always Denon's with Audyssey.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#389170 - 02/03/13 05:54 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I just did some wire adjustments on my system to accommodate a new PVR and discovered my network adapter in the 3808 was locked up. I had to do hard reset on the system to get everything working again. This means I lost all my settings etc. as I hadn't done a back up of my system settings, so I needed to run through Audyssey once again. I discovered I had managed to reverse the LF speaker connection, Audyssey revealed it to me while doing the setup, it is kind of nice it looks for these things.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#389171 - 02/03/13 05:54 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17768
Loc: NoVA
You can do a backup of your system config?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#389172 - 02/03/13 05:55 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
On the 3808 with "command3808"

I believe it is also possible with the standard web interface as well.


Edited by jakewash (02/03/13 05:55 PM)
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#389186 - 02/03/13 10:58 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I got that backwards, you can save your config via the built in web interface and having just checked with Command 3808 it does not provide config saving.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.