Axiom Home Page
Posted By: fredk Question for the BBQ experts - 07/06/15 11:18 PM
Anybody here have an opinion or any experience with pellet grills? I found this Green Mountain grill while reading a post on another forum about bbqs. It looks to be the perfect form factor for me, incredibly versitile, and has an acceptable price tag. I won't pay stoopid $$$ for a BGE.

I've spoken briefly to one person that's use one of its larger cousins for a while and he seems happy with it both as a smoker and for grilling.

Sounds almost too good to be true.
Posted By: tomtuttle Re: Question for the BBQ experts - 07/07/15 04:19 AM
I'm no expert. There are many Traeger grills here in the PNW. Reports from friends indicate high satisfaction, but not really high enough heat for all grilling demands. I've always wanted one for hassle free smoking and BBQ. I've also heard that there is important variation among thermostats.

It's probably worth a shot since it meets your needs so well.
Posted By: michael_d Re: Question for the BBQ experts - 07/07/15 04:00 PM
I have a couple friends who love their Traegers. I almost bought one, but I refuse to buy something that will live outdoor, and is not stainless steel. Traeger was built in the US, but no longer. Now they are made in China. Cheap and tinny in comparison.

I'm looking at a smoker now. Saw one at the local Sam's Club. Stainless steel, Bluetooth. .. Under 400 bucks.
Posted By: fredk Re: Question for the BBQ experts - 07/07/15 05:56 PM
Originally Posted By tomtuttle

It's probably worth a shot since it meets your needs so well.

Simply put and true. Unless its absolutely horrible, it is going to be a big improvement over what I have now.

The reviews this thing gets are all very, very good.

The guy I talked to has both a Traeger and a GMG. He thinks the GMG is a lot better.

Michael. I did not realize how far pellet burners have come. I always thought they were just for the wood stove crowd: a fancy way to burn sawdust to make heat.