You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » newb question re: HT room prep'ing

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#116750 - 11/21/05 12:31 AM newb question re: HT room prep'ing
plummer Offline
newbie

Registered: 11/21/05
Posts: 3
Hi all, new to this board so take it easy on me . Anyways, currently contructing my basement of my two-storey and will have a dedicated HT room. Since I am strictly a newb with the lastest and greatest in TV's....i am not sure what I should do for in-wall wiring. I will probably be getting a plasma once things get completed and will mount on the wall, however yeah I dont' want wires running all over the place. I will be doing the speaker wiring and all that right away....but need some direction for a plasma. Any help is greatly apprectiated! Thx.



Top
#116751 - 11/21/05 12:34 AM Re: newb question re: HT room prep'ing
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13567
Loc: Iowa
Could you post a drawing or picture of your room specifications/dimensions. It is very smart to think about these things now in early construction, your on the right track.

"welcome to the jungle"

Randy

_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#116752 - 11/21/05 12:43 AM Re: newb question re: HT room prep'ing
plummer Offline
newbie

Registered: 11/21/05
Posts: 3
wow....(lol). Thanks for the immediate response! My basement is kind of in disarray right now but I will be moving stuff around in the next day or two to get ready for insulation/speaker wiring. Pics would probably be a waste because all I have done are my outside walls....but i just did dimensions and it will be 13 wide by 18 long. Obviously the one 13 wide wall will be the one housing the plasma. Hope this is enough! Thx again.

Top
#116753 - 11/21/05 12:19 PM Re: newb question re: HT room prep'ing
BruceH Offline
devotee

Registered: 07/12/05
Posts: 353
Loc: Western Canada (just)
18'x13'

If at this stage you are only concerned with how and what type of cabling to use, make sure that the cable is rated to be installed in wall and if you are not 100% sure about the inputs of your current future display device, then install both HDMI and component video cables (s-video?). I'd also highly recommend cable shields to be installed at each cable penetration through the studs.


Where is your source equipment to be placed? Directly below the plasma or off in a remote closet?

Top
#116754 - 11/21/05 08:04 PM Re: newb question re: HT room prep'ing
plummer Offline
newbie

Registered: 11/21/05
Posts: 3
ok.....i'll do a google search as to what HDMI is. Basically what i'd like to know is that if I did plasma...then what type of cables should I run. I 'may' consider a projector....but that would require a different setup (obviously).
Is there a link to a certain cable shield? I'm not sure what they look like.
My components will probably be on the opposite side of the room in my furnace room. Any recommendations as to what type of RF to use ? THanks again. (yes, i am a newb).

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,224 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,992 Topics
424,050 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13567
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
57 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup