Rate Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Axiom EP500 - Funny noises at 20Hz?
#118159 12/02/05 04:41 PM
jinhan Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Okay, here is a clarification... I was testing my subwoofer this morning I here is description:

1) The noise that I am hearing sounds like a motorboat. This extraneous sound appears to be coming from the driver (meaning its more of a mechanical sound). This sound is separate and distinct from the actual sine wave.

2)This noise is the most prominent at 20Hz. I was mistaken, but I am able to hear it up to 24Hz. However, at 23-24Hz, this extraneous sound is present but can be intermittent. It also requires higher dB to get this sound (i.e. 95dB nearfield, using a RS Meter).

3) I'm not a subwoofer expert, but the driver excursion is more prominent when this happens, and seems to be related.

As I said, this is my first real subwoofer, and I have no idea what is normal. I have another subwoofer that I'm auditioning and it doesn't make that sound. But its a sealed sub, and doesn't start going until 25Hz.

I will also e-mail Alan to see what he thinks. Thanks guys for your help... You guys are great!

PS My EP500 starts at 19Hz, but doesn't really start going until 20Hz. I guess its the same as everybody else.

#118160 12/02/05 04:52 PM
devotee
devotee
I would just call Axiom and talk with them. They will probly send you a replacement if your sub is new.

I had a problem with port noise on my EP 500 and they are sending me a new one.

#118161 12/02/05 08:28 PM
jinhan Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran