Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Small system, newbie queries regarding subwoofer
#122704 01/02/06 06:21 PM
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
OK, first of all I'm 18 years old and from England, and I take great pleasure in rattling both the neighbours on the street and my parents in the house. I recently upgraded from a horrible PC 5.1 sound system, totalling 65w RMS, to a Yamaha RX-V657 Receiver, an Infocus X2 Projector, (DVD player supplying progressive scan signal via component video), a VP-100 centre channel speaker, and 4x M3ti's for the front and surround channels. (The reason for the front channels being the same size as the back being that I enjoy listening to music with small gatherings as background, therefore I require the same sound from all sides when enjoying music. From this setup I have a number of queries as I am fairly new to the whole idea.

However, so far I am EXTREMELY impressed with the clarity and lack of distortion even at high volumes with the Axiom speakers. I do believe however that the VP-100 sounds the weakest link in the setup.

My queries are as follows:

1) Is this configuration too small for my room? It is approximately 12' by 13' and is around 8' high. I am restricted to bookshelf speakers due to certain furniture arrangements. (This is my bedroom, and I do realise that this does penalise me due to poor acoustics)

2)Is the receiver I have too small for the speakers? It only amplifies 95w per channel, and I understand the power handling of my speakers is much greater. Does this mean that my maximum safe volume will be lower than that of a higher-spec amplifier?