You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Receiver Problem

Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#124731 - 01/19/06 11:48 AM Re: Receiver Problem
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16437
Loc: Ben Lomond, California
In my experience, when you have a plain stereo signal, activating Pro Logic on a receiver results in a poor sound field.
_________________________
I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.

Top
#124732 - 01/19/06 11:50 AM Re: Receiver Problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Sounds like a good theory to me.

Doesn't DPL (I) require some sort of built in encoding in the L/R signal the decoder is fed? If it doesn't get that encoding, wouldn't it just mess up the sound? I don't know; I've never used a DPL I receiver; I know that DPLII will take any source and "decode" it.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#124733 - 01/19/06 05:36 PM Re: Receiver Problem
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3258
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Ken,

Yes, old DPL and Dolby Surround is a matrix-based system, with the additional channels flipped in phase and piggybacked on the L and R signals. The center was just L + R and surround was L - R. The separation between channels was only about 3 to 6 dB, enough to make it sort of work. But for music it was hopeless. It seemed to collapse everything into the center channel.

DPLII still looks for out-of-phase material in an L/R stereo signal but operating in the digital domain, it's much cleaner and the separation is way better.

It seems to me the Dolby Digital decoder in the Sony set should do a quasi mix-down of the the 5.1 signals suitable for the L and R analog outputs, in which case there should be information there that the Kenwood DPL would extract. . .

Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#124734 - 01/19/06 06:00 PM Re: Receiver Problem
ratpack Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/30/05
Posts: 1155
Loc: Alabama
Thanks Alan and Others!!!!

I think that you confirmed my theory about what was happening. I don't think that there is much that I can do about it.

The Comcast cable goes directly into the Sony without using a cable box or cable card. I posted on another thread about this and I haven't figured out why it works. The channels are not listed on the Comcast website and when I called their tech support, they knew nothing about it. These channels with the .xx (like 92.10) must be commonly known because my son told me to look for them in the setup. He had read about them on some website.

Kenwood is not in the running for a new receiver, Onkyo, maybe Yahama or Denon. I really need to get off my butt and make a decision. Receiver will most probably drive a seperate amp.

Bug, I may try using another receiver input for the OPPO DVD. I had been thinking about that but the "spirit" just hasn't moved me. Probably won't for a while because grandson #2 arrived last night.

Once again, thanks for all of the excellent input.
_________________________
The Rat. M80s, VP-150, QS8s, SVS PC 20-39+, OPPO, Onkyo 703s, Harmony 880 Sony 60" SXRD HDTV

Top
#124735 - 01/19/06 06:06 PM Re: Receiver Problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Alan,

I can only see the Sony doing that if Rat had set it up so that it knew that it only had L&R outputs. As far as it knows (unless it does active sensing on the outputs), it's got all 6 channels, so it doesn't need to mix down.

Of course, it's all academic at this point...
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#124736 - 01/19/06 09:54 PM Re: Receiver Problem
ratpack Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/30/05
Posts: 1155
Loc: Alabama
Alan: I really don't know what audio processing the Sony does. I have read the instruction manual a couple of times and it isn't clear that it does any processing. Now that I have had the TV for a while, I should probably read the manual again and look for things like this.

Thanks once again.
_________________________
The Rat. M80s, VP-150, QS8s, SVS PC 20-39+, OPPO, Onkyo 703s, Harmony 880 Sony 60" SXRD HDTV

Top
#124737 - 01/20/06 08:40 AM Re: Receiver Problem
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
There's not much in there about what it does. It has to decode in order to have the optical output.

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,224 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,992 Topics
424,052 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13567
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
77 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup