Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Request for advice from a novice
#13171 07/09/03 04:34 AM
MC1 Offline OP
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
Hello,

I'm new to home theater, and I’ve finally taken the plunge and ordered my complete home theater system:

Axiom speakers: M60ti's, VP150, QS8's
Definitive Technology sub: Super Cube I
Pioneer VSX49TXi
QS8 stands

I also have a 65” Mitsubishi rear projection HDTV, which is 62” high. My room is 18 ft. X 16 ft.

My questions are:

1. I’ve read that the tweeter heights of the fronts and center should be the same, for better panning effects. Is this very important? Should I try to raise the M60ti’s on some sort of stands so that they'll reach the height of the center, which will sit atop the TV?
2. Should I angle the center speaker downward towards the listening positions?
3. Which corner should I place the subwoofer in: closer to the listening positions, or closer to the front speakers?
4. I plan to use Sound King 12 AWG oxygen free wire (from partsexpress.com) for all the speakers. Is this adequate or should I invest in more exotic wire?

Re: Request for advice from a novice
#13172 07/09/03 05:05 AM
axiomite
axiomite
1) The tweeter heights do not have to be 100% equivalent in height.

2) Yes, angling your centre speaker downward a bit will help in regards to your first question.

3) You really have to move the sub around the room to find the best sounding spot for your situation. However the most common locations is placing the sub right at the front beside their main speakers or right at the back behind/alongside their listening area.

4) That cable should be fine.

Enjoy your new system!

"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."
#13173 07/09/03 06:20 AM
connoisseur
connoisseur
In reply to:

You really have to move the sub around the room to find the best sounding spot for your situation.

MC1,