#168979 05/28/07 05:22 AM
R
Rodney Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
R
Hi, folks,

Well, now I got tweak-itis. Is my system sounding the best it can, especially for 2-channel music?

But since I am a newbie, I don't even know what to listen for. I did toe-in my M22s to where they "intersect" just behind me. They are almost 8' apart and my listening position is about 10.75' from each of the M22s and about 10' from the VP150. Do you think the mains are too far from each other? The room is 13.5' wide.

Even though I am a newbie, I am enjoying a choir piece from the test CD that came with my sub. And I could actually tell the position of the several groups-basses, sopranos, etc.-VERY cool.

Now, is there a test CD that can help me get better imaging, etc.? If I knew where the sound is supposed to come from, I can "tell" if it's really coming from there.

I am really enjoying the M22s. Nora Jones' non-SACD "Come Away with Me" is a delight to listen to.

Also, what is the difference between soundstage and imaging?

Thank you,

Rodney

Denon AVR-3312ci
Mains: M22 v2
Center: VP150 v2
Surrounds: QS8s v2
Sub: HSU VTF-2 MK3
Re: Mains position tweaking
Rodney #168980 05/28/07 07:35 AM
shareholder in the making
Rodney, a basic start for positioning the mains is to have them separated by about as much as your distance from them, so if anything you might separate yours a little more than they are now. Then, they generally should be toed-in enough to have the tweeters pointing at your ears. Small adjustments from that basic position can be tried to see if it sounds even better.

There's no difference in the positioning for two-channel music, and you should make use of all your speakers for that by applying DPLII or Neo:6 to extract the reflected sound that originally came from directions other than the front and send it to the surrounds where it belongs.

-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.

Rodney #168981 05/28/07 02:35 PM
axiomite