Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
New guy--m60s vs. m80s (again)
#169355 05/30/07 08:28 PM
G
OP Offline
G
Ok, I just signed on to the forums. I'm trying to decide which speakers to get for my apartment. Now, I read the last m60 vs m80 thread, but I am a newbie to this whole HT/ hi-fi stereo thing. I want to know which tower will serve me better. I don't want to make this too long of a post, so I'll be as brief as I can...

Music lover here, my dad took care of my education with good music and vinyl. Never had money enough to get into this whole hi-fi world until now. Did a lot of reading online, audioholics.com, etc. Did some listening as well (never Axioms though). Still a newb and unsure.

Uses for system--both music and HT, some parties. I listen, and love, every genre of music with the exception of opera. I'll listen to classical, hip-hop (on occasion), classic rock, country, electronic, metal, jazz. You name it. However, I'll say that a huge part of my listening is rock and metal oriented (Maiden, Metallica, AC/DC, GNR etc). I'm a riff-o-holic. I'm a guitarist, what can I say .

Apartment--This is tricky. It's a loft with the TV/stereo upstairs. Open. Approx. measurements--Loft is 22 ft wide, 8-ish high, 12-ish long. 2100 cubic ft. The back wall is actually a balcony half wall overlooking the kitchen/living room area. Downstairs is 22 ft wide, 25 feet high, about 15-16 long. 7900 cubic ft. Hardwood floor, side wall is painted cinderblock, rafter wood beam ceiling, glass front window wall. Not too much carpet/padding. Rommate's room is directly under the loft area, behind the living rm. The Axiom Wizard says m60's are enough for a large room and a rock listener/action film fan. I'm unsure since the combined space is so large.