Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Dual M22's as a center channel
drew88 #170395 06/19/07 05:17 PM
axiomite
axiomite
Quote:

Just one? How would that work? I do not have a perforated screen, I have a 52'' DLP. If there is a way to accomplish that, it would certaintly be my first choice.

I feel like I'm hijacking a bit, but since you asked, it's done by using a screen that is designed acoustically to allow sound from speakers hiding behind the screen to pass through into the room unfettered. This way, you can put your center channel behind the screen, exactly in the middle where it belongs.

I'm no expert for sure but here is the best article I have read so far that gives clear explanations of how it works, pros & cons, and also tips on how to overcome some challenges that may present themselves.

It also mentions comb filtering that can happen behind the screen and how to reduce it so I am still within the theme and am providing Alan and John with more fuel for the fire. heh heh.

Acoustically Invisible Projection Screens

With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
jakeman #170396 06/19/07 05:17 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Hi John,

I would certainly agree with you that the degree of sonic improvement of using two centers is very dependent on the room setup, seating locations and the vagaries of the room itself.

But my proposal of using two centers wasn't to deliver sonic improvement; rather, it was to remove the extremely off-putting sensation that may occur with some large-screen front projection systems where the dialog gets localized at the single center channel speaker because it's too far away from the visual screen center. That is what using two centers (above and below) is meant to correct, and it does that quite well in the installations I've heard with no audible downsides.

You also said: