You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne

Page 3 of 9 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#199536 - 03/08/08 08:36 AM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: jakewash]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3399
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Is that the 400+ pounds sub? Geez. I hope you will be allowed to borrow one of Purolator's van for this! And maybe a lift too? \:\)
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#199537 - 03/08/08 09:54 AM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: jakewash]
jakeman Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/03/05
Posts: 853
Loc: Toronto
Nice report Jason and Mojo. That Velodyne DLS-5000R is a real departure for Velo and I suspect just a made in China sub labelled Velodyne for sale through the big box stores. Products like this just hurt the brand. I've never liked subs with big unflared slot vents because of all the noise inherent with that type of port. In addition FR is anything but linear, in fact its more humped than even the old SVS models. Worse, its THD doesn't decline to less than 10% until 30hz and above. No surprise it sounds so bad.

Judging by your and other reports, the EP350v3 appears to be a real winner especially at that price. It may not go as deep as a EP600 but a pair of 350v3 would be an excellent alternative and perhaps better than a single 600 because of all the additional benefits you get from dual subs. I have to find a pair to audition.
_________________________
John

Top
#199541 - 03/08/08 10:34 AM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: jakeman]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13567
Loc: Iowa
I'll have to do more testing. Not sure I would go as far to say the 350 does a better job than my 600, maybe mojo's sub is defective. Keep in mind, I do believe his 600 has the new firmware with the brickwall higher. Mojo, didn't you tell me once via PM your previous 600 performed better than your new altered one?

My twin 350v3's in Ebony are killer and they continue to suprise me on punch and how low they will go. I'll keep testing and going back/forth between the two.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#199546 - 03/08/08 11:00 AM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: SirQuack]
Mojo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 4698
No, I have the old firmware...same as yours.

Top
#199563 - 03/08/08 01:06 PM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: Mojo]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13567
Loc: Iowa
Ok, I was thinking you had said you disabled the original amp when trying to upgrade yourself. And the replacement was revised at the factory with initial feedback as being worse than your original amp.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#199573 - 03/08/08 02:53 PM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: SirQuack]
Mojo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 4698
The replacement amp that Axiom sent me had the original firmware. The only thing that is different in my 600 now is the driver. I have the driver that is made with dull rather than shiny aluminum. The dull aluminum doesn't go as well with my beaver \:\) . I replaced the driver due to noise at lower frequencies with high SPLs. The noise is no longer there.

Top
#199578 - 03/08/08 05:11 PM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: Mojo]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 11437
Loc: Central NH
 Originally Posted By: Mojo
The dull aluminum doesn't go as well with my beaver \:\)


I pity new forum members trying to figure that one out! \:\)
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#199594 - 03/08/08 08:17 PM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: MarkSJohnson]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7786
Loc: Canada
Meh, all us Canucks have a beaver or two somewhere in the livingroom...
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
#199604 - 03/08/08 09:47 PM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: fredk]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13567
Loc: Iowa
Is it the inflatible type or the real deal. \:\)
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#199627 - 03/09/08 12:36 AM Re: EP350v3, EP600 and 15" Velodyne [Re: SirQuack]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Some are furry, others are shiny or smooth.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
Page 3 of 9 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,224 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,991 Topics
424,046 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13567
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
59 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup