You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » 3808 Network setup

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#207789 - 05/11/08 01:40 PM 3808 Network setup
Lorenzo1000 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/07/04
Posts: 537
Loc: Winterpeg
Hello 3808 users.

I'm wondering if anyone can help me with setting up my network capabilities of my 3808. After several tries and reading through the threads here and at AVS I've established that I just suck at all network related stuff. I can't get this to work at all and get no connection to the 3808. I'm mostly interested in doing the firmware updates but without a connection...

I need some sort of simpleton's guide for this to get it to work. if it helps I have a Linksys WRT454G and I have turned UPnP off.
_________________________
2xM80 VP180 2xQS8 2xM3 HSU STF3 LG 60PS11 Denon 3808 ATI 1506 LCR 2xATI 1502 Oppo BDP-83

Top
#207799 - 05/11/08 03:55 PM Re: 3808 Network setup [Re: Lorenzo1000]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
I have a wrt54g and the denon 3808 as well.

I use a linksys wireless gaming adapter hooked into the 3808 so that I can have wifi access to firmware updates, streaming music, and internet radio.

Are you hooking an ethernet cable from your router to your denon or using a wireless method like I described above?
_________________________
-David

Top
#207808 - 05/11/08 05:17 PM Re: 3808 Network setup [Re: terzaghi]
Lorenzo1000 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/07/04
Posts: 537
Loc: Winterpeg
I have an ethernet cable from my router hooked up to the 3808. I have a home theater pc that the ethernet cable is normally hooked up to. I unhooked the cable from the pc and plugged it into the 3808 but I can't get it to work with the 3808,
_________________________
2xM80 VP180 2xQS8 2xM3 HSU STF3 LG 60PS11 Denon 3808 ATI 1506 LCR 2xATI 1502 Oppo BDP-83

Top
#207816 - 05/11/08 08:52 PM Re: 3808 Network setup [Re: Lorenzo1000]
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
Have you done everything that page 32 in the 3808's manual says to do to setup your network. I had no problem with my brother in laws.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#207818 - 05/11/08 09:32 PM Re: 3808 Network setup [Re: HomeDad]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
try running an ethernet cable straight from your modem to your denon (bypassing the router completely). If it works then we know something needs to be changed in the router settings.
_________________________
-David

Top
#207820 - 05/11/08 09:37 PM Re: 3808 Network setup [Re: HomeDad]
Lorenzo1000 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/07/04
Posts: 537
Loc: Winterpeg
It seems like I have. i have tried it with DHCP and without. With DHCP enabled it won't even give me the option to look for firmware updates. Without the connection fails every time.
_________________________
2xM80 VP180 2xQS8 2xM3 HSU STF3 LG 60PS11 Denon 3808 ATI 1506 LCR 2xATI 1502 Oppo BDP-83

Top
#207839 - 05/11/08 11:01 PM Re: 3808 Network setup [Re: Lorenzo1000]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
still not working when bypassing the router?
_________________________
-David

Top
#207846 - 05/12/08 12:21 AM Re: 3808 Network setup [Re: Lorenzo1000]
Gringo Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/06/08
Posts: 10
Loc: Brisbane, Australia
Hi Lorenzo,

This is going to sound a bit out there but are you or have you run Vista on a PC that connects to the modem?

If yes I will elaborate more - save to say that it took me weeks to work out what was causing the issue with my 3808 when first purchased.

Top
#207851 - 05/12/08 07:08 AM Re: 3808 Network setup [Re: Gringo]
Lorenzo1000 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/07/04
Posts: 537
Loc: Winterpeg
Strangely enough yes I did have a computer with Vista on it connected for a while. I no longer have that computer so it is all XP at the moment.
_________________________
2xM80 VP180 2xQS8 2xM3 HSU STF3 LG 60PS11 Denon 3808 ATI 1506 LCR 2xATI 1502 Oppo BDP-83

Top
#207857 - 05/12/08 08:15 AM Re: 3808 Network setup [Re: Lorenzo1000]
myrison Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/03/08
Posts: 1898
Loc: Denver, CO
Make sure to turn off UPNP as well. There have been lots of reports of problems with that turned on.
_________________________
Epic 80-800: HG Cherry

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,207 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,616 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
204 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup