Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
2 registered (Serenity_Now, Ken.C), 35 Guests and 10 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13360 Members
11 Forums
23078 Topics
408058 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17843
pmbuko 16319
SirQuack 13356
CV 11388
MarkSJohnson 11061
Meanwhile On Facebook

(y) That countdown timer is finally off their site! Great to see high-quality s...

⚠ Only 5 days left in our Computer Speaker Presale! http://www.axiomaudio.com/c...

(y) Love this review a customer sent us recently: "Bottom line, these speakers...

❔ The new M1 High Powered Computer Speaker uses Axiom's latest full one-inch twe...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#218516 - 08/20/08 02:51 PM 160GB PS3
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
The 160GB PS3 coming in Nov. PS3
That's a lot of memory, I'm barely using my 20GB.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#218565 - 08/21/08 12:00 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: HomeDad]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11388
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Considering you can swap out the hard drives yourself, I think Sony should focus on adding back in features instead of upping hard drive sizes.

Top
#218566 - 08/21/08 12:09 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: CV]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7382
Loc: Canada
 Quote:
Considering you can swap out the hard drives yourself

You know, it just struck me that this is such an un-Sony-like thing to do. Usually they want to squeeze every last penny out of you.
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
#218567 - 08/21/08 12:16 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: fredk]
SlamKeys Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 08/13/08
Posts: 20
Loc: Houston, TX
So I can take out my 40GB original drive and simply put a bigger one in? Where is this documented?
_________________________
I do mind. The Dude minds. This will not stand. This aggression will not stand man.

M60|VP150|QS8

Top
#218568 - 08/21/08 12:27 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: SlamKeys]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11388
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
There are removal/replacement instructions in the "Safety and Support" booklet included with the PS3. It must be a SATA 2.5" internal drive.

I haven't felt the need to do this yet, but it's nice to know I can do it if I want to.

Top
#218573 - 08/21/08 02:20 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: SlamKeys]
spiffnme Offline
axiomite

Registered: 04/01/03
Posts: 5219
Loc: Los Angeles
 Originally Posted By: SlamKeys
So I can take out my 40GB original drive and simply put a bigger one in? Where is this documented?


You never cracked open the user manual did you? LOL! A real man! \:\) <insert Tim Taylor grunts here>
_________________________
"A nation cannot prosper long, when it favors only the prosperous." -President Barack Obama

Top
#218584 - 08/21/08 08:06 AM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: spiffnme]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4858
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Yeah, and you are paying a $100 premium for the extra 80 gigs.

No thanks.
_________________________
-David

Top
#218610 - 08/21/08 12:12 PM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: terzaghi]
Ascension Offline
veteran

Registered: 10/30/03
Posts: 130
Loc: Hutchinson, KS.
So will this model have backward compatability and SACD? I'm having trouble finding the sony model that will still do that.
_________________________
2 = M60,4 = QS8's,1 = VP150,1 = EP350,1 = EP500
HK247
Optoma HD70,110" DIY screen
Xbox360 & PS3

Top
#218612 - 08/21/08 12:19 PM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: Ascension]
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
I don't think so, since Sony isn't putting it in their newer 80GB units.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#218613 - 08/21/08 12:21 PM Re: 160GB PS3 [Re: HomeDad]
thefwam Offline
local

Registered: 03/04/08
Posts: 229
Loc: Utah, USA
The news release that I read said that both the new 80 GB and 160 GB would be the current 40 GB model just with a bigger HDD.
_________________________
Steve

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.