Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Couple Speaker Related Questions
#23488 10/29/03 03:44 PM
PeteS Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello all, I have some questions regarding my upcoming Home Theater purchase, I was hoping to get a bit of advice, as I'm pretty new to the Home Theater scene.

I currently have an H/K AVR320, and a HSU VFT-2 sub, both of which I plan to keep. The system will be going into my living room which is about 15'x20' with usual couch, coffee-table, etc. I'm going to be going strictly with a 5.1 system, as there's no way to accomodate a 7.1 system. Usage will be 80% HT, 20% music.

I've finally convinced the better half that we should get a decent, unobtrusive system. Big floor-standing speakers are out, it will have to be bookshelves. I'm looking to spend around $1000 or less for the fronts, center and rears.

The speakers must be available via mail order due to my location.

The speakers I'm considering are:

Axiom M3ti - fronts
Axiom QS4 - rears
Axiom VP100 - center

Couple of questions: (finally)

1) Will the AVR320 will be sufficient to power speakers in HT? I'm not looking for reference levels, just good clean sound. I'm thinking I can always add an external amp later, if I really need it. Just want to make sure I'm going to be able to get decent sound in the meanwhile.

2) I've also read here ( or somewhere ) that the VP150 sounds better. Is it really that noticable? I'm worried that the larger 150 may overpower the M3's. I'm also worried that the VP150 is pretty large, almost 10" longer than the VP100.

Thanks a bunch.

Re: Couple Speaker Related Questions
#23489 10/29/03 04:03 PM
aficionado
aficionado