You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#268292 - 08/05/09 09:24 AM Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ?
Chevy Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/31/09
Posts: 95
Loc: Sherbrooke Qc Canada
Does somebody has a Cambridge Audio Azur 640r on his HT system?
Satisfy of the performance ???
Your comments about it ( good or bad).
I have now idea how it is on 5.1 or 7.1 HT configuration

I buy one few month ago, Actually I used it im my living room in stereo mode.... very satisfy for now!!!!
but guess what, soon my teens will leave home & i'll plan to make a HT room... i my basement !!!

With Axiom spkr for sure.
_________________________
Cambridge Audio 640r,M100,VP150v3,QS8v3,EP500v3

Top
#268367 - 08/05/09 10:29 PM Re: Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ? [Re: Chevy]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10621
Carl, welcome. The 640 is a competently designed(although overpriced)receiver which has been designed for HT use. So, there's no reason to suspect that it wouldn't do well for that use, within its designed limits.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#268394 - 08/06/09 09:56 AM Re: Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ? [Re: JohnK]
Chevy Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/31/09
Posts: 95
Loc: Sherbrooke Qc Canada
OK thanks for yours opignon. (although overpriced)
Well i get a 500$ rebate on a Demo unit. so it's should be fair deal.
_________________________
Cambridge Audio 640r,M100,VP150v3,QS8v3,EP500v3

Top
#268398 - 08/06/09 10:53 AM Re: Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ? [Re: Chevy]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4191
Loc: Up yonder
It will not process the latest HD audio formats. If that’s important to you (should be), then I would pass on this AVR.
_________________________


Top
#268888 - 08/11/09 10:39 AM Re: Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ? [Re: michael_d]
Chevy Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/31/09
Posts: 95
Loc: Sherbrooke Qc Canada
???? not the Latest audio format ... for movie????
Well i'm newbie so i'm not aware of everything.

I just wish having a good A/V reveiver better than average, not necessaily the most up to date.

The future will twll me if i made a good choice ( somewhere in the next winter when il will purchase my HT spkr... for now, it's sound great on stereo mode.)


Edited by Chevy (08/11/09 10:41 AM)
Edit Reason: typo error and my poor english !
_________________________
Cambridge Audio 640r,M100,VP150v3,QS8v3,EP500v3

Top
#268889 - 08/11/09 10:57 AM Re: Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ? [Re: Chevy]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3397
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
BTW, Chevy, I don't know if you are aware of this, but one of Axiom's technical expert (JC) lives in Sherbrooke and has an incredible demo room. Might be worth a look!
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#268991 - 08/12/09 09:08 AM Re: Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ? [Re: EFalardeau]
Chevy Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/31/09
Posts: 95
Loc: Sherbrooke Qc Canada
\:\) Yes, I know I already take contact with him.
a demo will be somewhere in september.
He wrote me last week and, he has the entire product line in his room.
That's will be very helpful to see and ear Axiom products.

Certainly I will post my feedback about it !!!
not always easy to me to post in english).
_________________________
Cambridge Audio 640r,M100,VP150v3,QS8v3,EP500v3

Top
#268993 - 08/12/09 10:00 AM Re: Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ? [Re: Chevy]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
AS what I think will be the first board member to have a demo in Ian's room, I'll thank you ahead of time for the effort of posting a review in English. My French has faded to dismal proportions since high school.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#269002 - 08/12/09 12:21 PM Re: Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ? [Re: Murph]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3397
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
 Originally Posted By: Murph
My French has faded to dismal proportions since high school.

That's probably because you moved from IPE to PEI.
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#269007 - 08/12/09 12:58 PM Re: Cambridge Audio Azur 640r ... good for HT ? [Re: EFalardeau]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
I believe a true Frenchman would revert back to one of it's original names, "l'Îles Saint-Jean."
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,207 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,595 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
183 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup