You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Place Sub in enclosure?

Page 4 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#279586 - 11/18/09 01:38 PM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: cb919]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
You just need a couple of Machina Dynamica, anti-gravity spacers to hold the top over the sub without touching it. It will keep your Brilliant Pebbles from vibrating off to the floor.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#279587 - 11/18/09 01:40 PM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: Murph]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13669
Loc: Iowa
I just moved one of my 350's upstairs, and plan to use it as an end-table for the couch or loveseat, just need to run some coax in the walls first..
_________________________
M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#279627 - 11/18/09 04:29 PM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: SirQuack]
aspicer1 Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/02/07
Posts: 104
Loc: Virginia
Beleive me i hear what you all are saying and understand that placing the sub in a column would not be ideal. Just hoping for some ideas on how to build it as well as i possibly can in case i decide it is the way to go for me. So far the mention of building an enclosure to run flush with the front of the sub and using some materials behind and above to try and project sound forward is what I have. Any ideas on what materials would be best? Chipboard? Drywall? Insulation or a combination of the two? If i can keep as much of the air pushing forward as possible it might not be such a problem...... At least thats what i am thinking.....
_________________________
Success is a journey not a destination!

Top
#279631 - 11/18/09 04:36 PM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: aspicer1]
cb919 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/17/09
Posts: 1169
Loc: Ottawa, Canada
Well, if you're going to do it, MDF makes sense to me as it's what the sub is made of as well. That's just my 2 cents.

BTW, I had a similar idea and when I built my equipment rack I made a cabinet at the bottom to hold my sub. Unfortunately as soon as I put the sub in there and listened it was very 'boomy'. So I pulled it out and did the sub crawl and have been happy since. Luckily for me the sub crawl revealed I could put the sub in an optimal and aesthetically pleasing place. The ex sub enclosure now holds movies, games and my PS3 controller charger.
_________________________
Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1

Top
#279635 - 11/18/09 04:40 PM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: cb919]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
 Originally Posted By: cb919
On the other hand it would keep mixed drinks...well...mixed - or well mixed!


Shakened - not stirred.


Edited by Argon (11/18/09 04:40 PM)
Edit Reason: sp.
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
#279665 - 11/18/09 08:00 PM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: Argon]
aspicer1 Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/02/07
Posts: 104
Loc: Virginia
Ok thanks for the MDF idea. Still lots of negativity with this plan though so i guess i would be a total moron for not reconsidering it. Thanks all......
_________________________
Success is a journey not a destination!

Top
#279760 - 11/19/09 12:35 PM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: aspicer1]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
I'd hate for all of us to have to march in front of your house with plaques saying "Free your!! Sub Free your Sub!!!"
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#279819 - 11/19/09 04:14 PM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: Murph]
Micah Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/16/08
Posts: 1789
Loc: Indiana you hoser!!!!
Me too, because he'd probably be so busy enjoying his system he'd never even notice us out there. ;\)


Edited by Micah (11/19/09 04:15 PM)
_________________________
My Stuff :

M80's
QS8's
VP150
EP800
Denon 4802
Emotiva XPA-3
Samsung BD-P3600
Sharp 65 Inch Aquos LCD

Top
#279831 - 11/19/09 05:21 PM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: Micah]
aspicer1 Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/02/07
Posts: 104
Loc: Virginia
This is funny stuff!!!!
_________________________
Success is a journey not a destination!

Top
#279889 - 11/20/09 01:49 AM Re: Place Sub in enclosure? [Re: aspicer1]
BigHonu Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/15/09
Posts: 198
Loc: In the middle of the sea
My dad had his sub in a cabinet in his built-into-the-wall entertainment center. Sounded really bad at first as the whole entertainment center was vibrating and rattling. As the books, components, etc went in, most of the vibrations and rattling went away (or was greatly reduced) and the sound improved a good deal. Not great, but better than when the entertainment center was empty.

If you need to put it in another enclosure then I'd try and make that sucker fairly dense to keep resonances to a minimum. Won't be optimal, but better than no sub at all.

Top
Page 4 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,392 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,304 Topics
430,492 Posts

Most users ever online:
2,082 @ 01/22/20 10:43 AM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13669
CV 11742
MarkSJohnson 11445
1 registered (CV)
458 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup