Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
cb919 #279586 11/18/09 06:38 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
You just need a couple of Machina Dynamica, anti-gravity spacers to hold the top over the sub without touching it. It will keep your Brilliant Pebbles from vibrating off to the floor.


With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
Murph #279587 11/18/09 06:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,690
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,690
Likes: 1
I just moved one of my 350's upstairs, and plan to use it as an end-table for the couch or loveseat, just need to run some coax in the walls first..


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
SirQuack #279627 11/18/09 09:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 104
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 104
Beleive me i hear what you all are saying and understand that placing the sub in a column would not be ideal. Just hoping for some ideas on how to build it as well as i possibly can in case i decide it is the way to go for me. So far the mention of building an enclosure to run flush with the front of the sub and using some materials behind and above to try and project sound forward is what I have. Any ideas on what materials would be best? Chipboard? Drywall? Insulation or a combination of the two? If i can keep as much of the air pushing forward as possible it might not be such a problem...... At least thats what i am thinking.....


Success is a journey not a destination!
Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
aspicer1 #279631 11/18/09 09:36 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,169
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,169
Well, if you're going to do it, MDF makes sense to me as it's what the sub is made of as well. That's just my 2 cents.

BTW, I had a similar idea and when I built my equipment rack I made a cabinet at the bottom to hold my sub. Unfortunately as soon as I put the sub in there and listened it was very 'boomy'. So I pulled it out and did the sub crawl and have been happy since. Luckily for me the sub crawl revealed I could put the sub in an optimal and aesthetically pleasing place. The ex sub enclosure now holds movies, games and my PS3 controller charger.


Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1
Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
cb919 #279635 11/18/09 09:40 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,443
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,443
 Originally Posted By: cb919
On the other hand it would keep mixed drinks...well...mixed - or well mixed!


Shakened - not stirred.

Last edited by Argon; 11/18/09 09:40 PM. Reason: sp.

"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill
Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
Argon #279665 11/19/09 01:00 AM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 104
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 104
Ok thanks for the MDF idea. Still lots of negativity with this plan though so i guess i would be a total moron for not reconsidering it. Thanks all......


Success is a journey not a destination!
Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
aspicer1 #279760 11/19/09 05:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
I'd hate for all of us to have to march in front of your house with plaques saying "Free your!! Sub Free your Sub!!!"


With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
Murph #279819 11/19/09 09:14 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,789
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,789
Me too, because he'd probably be so busy enjoying his system he'd never even notice us out there. ;\)

Last edited by Micah; 11/19/09 09:15 PM.

My Stuff :

M80's
QS8's
VP150
EP800
Denon 4802
Emotiva XPA-3
Samsung BD-P3600
Sharp 65 Inch Aquos LCD
Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
Micah #279831 11/19/09 10:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 104
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 104
This is funny stuff!!!!


Success is a journey not a destination!
Re: Place Sub in enclosure?
aspicer1 #279889 11/20/09 06:49 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 198
B
veteran
Offline
veteran
B
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 198
My dad had his sub in a cabinet in his built-into-the-wall entertainment center. Sounded really bad at first as the whole entertainment center was vibrating and rattling. As the books, components, etc went in, most of the vibrations and rattling went away (or was greatly reduced) and the sound improved a good deal. Not great, but better than when the entertainment center was empty.

If you need to put it in another enclosure then I'd try and make that sucker fairly dense to keep resonances to a minimum. Won't be optimal, but better than no sub at all.

Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,396
Posts432,289
Members15,418
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
2 members (michael_d, 2x6spds), 289 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4