You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Bought an APC power conditioner; help please.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#286115 - 01/09/10 01:07 PM Bought an APC power conditioner; help please.
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Hey guys, I just picked up this APC surge protector (the main reason I bought it is for its AVR technology) and I was wondering if any of you have the same unit or one similar?

Is it easy to set up? I have a separate 20 amp circuit that I will be plugging into. I'm assuming that I should just plugged everything into the corresponding outlets on the unit? There are four different outlet categories on the unit, so it seems to be fairly straightforward. My main question is will the 20 amp circuit be able to handle my subwoofer, separate amp, receiver, TV, DVD player, CD player, Blu-ray player, and media player?

Thank you very much,
Cam
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#286121 - 01/09/10 02:18 PM Re: Bought an APC power conditioner; help please. [Re: Ya_basta]
SRoode Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/20/08
Posts: 1277
Loc: Fishers, Indiana, USA
If you plug this into your separate 20A circuit, you will lose 5A. The APC unit has a built in breaker to trip at 15A.
_________________________
2 M80s, 1 VP180, 4 QS8s, 2 EP800s, 4 Algonquins, 2 M3 VaSSallos, 1 AxiomAir N3

Top
#286131 - 01/09/10 03:40 PM Re: Bought an APC power conditioner; help please. [Re: SRoode]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Thanks, Steve, I didn't know that.
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#286133 - 01/09/10 03:45 PM Re: Bought an APC power conditioner; help please. [Re: Ya_basta]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6789
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

The best I can tell ya Cam is to add the usage wattage of all components then divide that number by 120 to get the amps being used.

Example. 1000 watts/120=8.3 amps.

Most likely you'll be ok but it doesn't hurt to check.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#286137 - 01/09/10 04:26 PM Re: Bought an APC power conditioner; help please. [Re: Wid]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Thanks, Rick. Great suggestion; although it might take a while, I do have some free time \:\) .
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#286141 - 01/09/10 05:35 PM Re: Bought an APC power conditioner; help please. [Re: Ya_basta]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Can someone please help me calculate what my approximate draw would be. I've posted below what the manual states for each component. I really don't understand how to measure the draw of my subwoofer or RPA-1., with the subwoofer being 500 W output, and the amp capable of 300 W X2 at 4 ohms.

I couldn't find the power consumption of my plasma TV (or my satellite receiver, but I imagine it's fairly little) in the manual, but a quick search states that 350 W is average for a plasma TV, does that seem right?

cd player -25 w
denon-7.2Amps- 864w
blu-ray - 35 w
dvd player -25w
amp-600w
ep500-500w
tv-350w

Thank you very much again guys.


Edited by wheelz999 (01/09/10 05:39 PM)
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#286146 - 01/09/10 06:30 PM Re: Bought an APC power conditioner; help please. [Re: Ya_basta]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
Amplifiers are not 100% efficient, in that if they can drive the speaker with 500W, they'll be pulling more from the wall and turning that to heat. But you'll also not ever be driving all amps at their max at the same time. Everything but a Class A amp will draw less from the wall when they are playing at a lower volume.

Yes, the 350 Watts sounds about right for a plasma TV. My 50" Kuro draws 352 when displaying a completely white screen (power draw varies with screen brightness on plasma and CRT).

So lets go with the numbers you have there:

That's a total of 2399 Watts, divided by 120 Volts, gives 19.99 Amperes.

It's not a good idea to plug amps into power conditioners unless they're rated for it. Many of them (even this APC, I believe) do not respond well to the initial inrush of current as the amp turns on and attempts to fill its capacitors. If you plug the amplifier and the EP500 into the wall, and the rest of the stuff into the APC, you should be in good shape.


Edited by ClubNeon (01/09/10 06:32 PM)
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#286150 - 01/09/10 06:41 PM Re: Bought an APC power conditioner; help please. [Re: ClubNeon]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
I have This APC battery backup. My 50" LCD RP, denon 3808, Xbox360, PS3 and DVR are all plugged into the battery backup outlets. I have my ep500 plugged into one of the surge suppression only outlets. The unit is set to turn on my ep500 and my cinema quest bias light behind the TV when my receiver is turned on.

If I have all of the components running I am pulling 550 or so watts from the wall (but am pretty sure that does not count the ep500 or light- only stuff plugged into the battery enabled outlets)
_________________________
-David

Top
#286151 - 01/09/10 06:43 PM Re: Bought an APC power conditioner; help please. [Re: ClubNeon]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11677
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Can someone explain the benefit of dedicated 20 amp circuits over 15 amp circuits for home theater? I'm going to have multiple dedicated circuits, so would there be any point to any of them being 20 amp?

Top
#286153 - 01/09/10 06:57 PM Re: Bought an APC power conditioner; help please. [Re: CV]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
20 Amps just gives you 5 more Amps before the breaker trips. Since is it easier to avoid ground loops, if everything is plugged into one outlet, having that outlet be able to handle all the gear can be a plus.

If you're having new ones installed, there's not much reason to not install 20 Amp breakers. You may need a slightly larger gauge wire, and 20 Amp outlets have a the ability to take a plug which has one leg turned 90 degrees. This difference in price in the breaker and the outlet will probably be less than $10 for each pair. The copper wire might end up being the largest cost, if you need to go up a size. For short runs you won't even notice that.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,244 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,027 Topics
424,371 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (Gr8_White_North)
197 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup