You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.

Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#290264 - 02/03/10 01:46 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: grunt]
GregLee Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/12/03
Posts: 144
Loc: Waimanalo, HI
Yes, I'm pleased with the speakers, even if the sub turns out to be less than fully functional. I also got four QS8s in place of the the QS4s that were advertised.

A couple other questions: Is there somewhere I can find an older version of the manual? This sub is model "EP-500", serial 5050001, bought in 2006 according to the seller. And, related, what do the settings on the Trim control do? (Remote, Flat, Half, Full, Load)
_________________________
Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020

Top
#290268 - 02/03/10 01:59 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: GregLee]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana

Was the guy you bought them from even the original owner? How could you not know what speakers you have especially if only about 3 years old.

The trim control adjusts the frequency response of the sub kind of like using EQ but with preset settings. Flat is a flat FR, where Half and Full are designed to help compensate for subwoofers in general having FR issues in small rooms. Load is supposed to be for firmware updates though I’ve never seen one yet.

I’ve used the Half and Full settings to boost the FR at around the 40Hz range in two rooms where I had large dips due to room modes.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#290272 - 02/03/10 02:22 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: grunt]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Wow, that's definitely an old EP500 amp.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#290275 - 02/03/10 02:30 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: grunt]
GregLee Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/12/03
Posts: 144
Loc: Waimanalo, HI
 Originally Posted By: grunt

Was the guy you bought them from even the original owner? How could you not know what speakers you have especially if only about 3 years old.

It was a gal, and I gather her ex bought them. Well, I think what happens is that folks not really interested in audio and video gear categorize equipment by brand and general functionality. But sometimes not by model or year. I see quite a few listings on Craigslist for "Sony 5.1 speakers", e.g., as though Sony only ever made one 5.1 speaker set. "A nice 42 inch Samsung flatscreen."

Thanks for the info on Trim.
_________________________
Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020

Top
#290310 - 02/03/10 07:06 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: GregLee]
GregLee Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/12/03
Posts: 144
Loc: Waimanalo, HI
By poking around, I found an older manual version: Older EP500 manual.
_________________________
Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020

Top
#290374 - 02/04/10 10:09 AM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: GregLee]
obsi Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/14/09
Posts: 89
Loc: Philippines
So many changes I've noticed to the ep500v2 amp. First the 3 accessible round fuses were omitted, then the crossover was changed from bypass (100hz) to 150hz, then the volume level knob was desensitized (is that a word?), then the replacement of the trim knob with a subsonic switch (which the older ones already had the subsonic roll-off program built-in), and now a totally new look for the amp, which now requires an rca-phono adapter jack that plugs into the xlr?
_________________________
Velo DD18,2xAxiom EP500,2xeD A7-450,2xSVS PB13U,2xSVS SB13P,2xInfinity Kappa12mbm, 2xB&W PCS8

Top
#290465 - 02/04/10 04:43 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: obsi]
BigHonu Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/15/09
Posts: 198
Loc: In the middle of the sea
Greg,

Did you find that system locally? Just wondering.

Brian

Top
#290546 - 02/05/10 04:21 AM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: BigHonu]
GregLee Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/12/03
Posts: 144
Loc: Waimanalo, HI
Yes, locally, on Craigslist Hawaii/Oahu.
_________________________
Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020

Top
#290623 - 02/05/10 11:47 AM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: obsi]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
 Originally Posted By: obsi
So many changes I've noticed to the ep500v2 amp. First the 3 accessible round fuses were omitted, then the crossover was changed from bypass (100hz) to 150hz, then the volume level knob was desensitized (is that a word?), then the replacement of the trim knob with a subsonic switch (which the older ones already had the subsonic roll-off program built-in), and now a totally new look for the amp, which now requires an rca-phono adapter jack that plugs into the xlr?


This is what they replaced my amp with. I just bought mine and received May 2009 - so these updates have happened between then and now.
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,405 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,324 Topics
430,824 Posts

Most users ever online:
2,082 @ 01/22/20 10:43 AM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13675
CV 11753
MarkSJohnson 11445
2 registered (tmuhr, From_the_Deep)
289 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup