Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.
grunt #290264 02/03/10 06:46 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 144
GregLee Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 144
Yes, I'm pleased with the speakers, even if the sub turns out to be less than fully functional. I also got four QS8s in place of the the QS4s that were advertised.

A couple other questions: Is there somewhere I can find an older version of the manual? This sub is model "EP-500", serial 5050001, bought in 2006 according to the seller. And, related, what do the settings on the Trim control do? (Remote, Flat, Half, Full, Load)


Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020
Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.
GregLee #290268 02/03/10 06:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569

Was the guy you bought them from even the original owner? How could you not know what speakers you have especially if only about 3 years old.

The trim control adjusts the frequency response of the sub kind of like using EQ but with preset settings. Flat is a flat FR, where Half and Full are designed to help compensate for subwoofers in general having FR issues in small rooms. Load is supposed to be for firmware updates though I’ve never seen one yet.

I’ve used the Half and Full settings to boost the FR at around the 40Hz range in two rooms where I had large dips due to room modes.


3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1
Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.
grunt #290272 02/03/10 07:22 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
Wow, that's definitely an old EP500 amp.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.
grunt #290275 02/03/10 07:30 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 144
GregLee Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 144
 Originally Posted By: grunt

Was the guy you bought them from even the original owner? How could you not know what speakers you have especially if only about 3 years old.

It was a gal, and I gather her ex bought them. Well, I think what happens is that folks not really interested in audio and video gear categorize equipment by brand and general functionality. But sometimes not by model or year. I see quite a few listings on Craigslist for "Sony 5.1 speakers", e.g., as though Sony only ever made one 5.1 speaker set. "A nice 42 inch Samsung flatscreen."

Thanks for the info on Trim.


Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020
Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.
GregLee #290310 02/04/10 12:06 AM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 144
GregLee Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 144
By poking around, I found an older manual version: Older EP500 manual.


Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020
Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.
GregLee #290374 02/04/10 03:09 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
So many changes I've noticed to the ep500v2 amp. First the 3 accessible round fuses were omitted, then the crossover was changed from bypass (100hz) to 150hz, then the volume level knob was desensitized (is that a word?), then the replacement of the trim knob with a subsonic switch (which the older ones already had the subsonic roll-off program built-in), and now a totally new look for the amp, which now requires an rca-phono adapter jack that plugs into the xlr?


Velo DD18,2xAxiom EP500,2xeD A7-450,2xSVS PB13U,2xSVS SB13P,2xInfinity Kappa12mbm, 2xB&W PCS8
Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.
obsi #290465 02/04/10 09:43 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 198
B
veteran
Offline
veteran
B
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 198
Greg,

Did you find that system locally? Just wondering.

Brian

Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.
BigHonu #290546 02/05/10 09:21 AM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 144
GregLee Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 144
Yes, locally, on Craigslist Hawaii/Oahu.


Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020
Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.
obsi #290623 02/05/10 04:47 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,443
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,443
 Originally Posted By: obsi
So many changes I've noticed to the ep500v2 amp. First the 3 accessible round fuses were omitted, then the crossover was changed from bypass (100hz) to 150hz, then the volume level knob was desensitized (is that a word?), then the replacement of the trim knob with a subsonic switch (which the older ones already had the subsonic roll-off program built-in), and now a totally new look for the amp, which now requires an rca-phono adapter jack that plugs into the xlr?


This is what they replaced my amp with. I just bought mine and received May 2009 - so these updates have happened between then and now.


"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,365
Posts431,737
Members15,414
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,682
CV 11,798
MarkSJohnson 11,450
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 154 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4