OP Offline
connoisseur
I have a small room for my home theatre, it's 17 by 11

i have the following setup:

M22Ti front
VP150 center
M3Ti rear
EP125 sub

I find the room is not large enough for the sound to be all that good. In movies, the front speakers don't seam too well together. The sub does not disperse sound all over. the way i have it now is:

M22's about 5 inches from the walls in the front corners on Atlantis SBF20 stands
VP150 above my screen
M3's about a foot from the walls in the back on Atlantis SBF24 stands.
EP125 in the front left, in front of the M22, with the driver facing sideways, settings are phase at 0 degrees and EQ to audio.

thanks for the suggestions!

Re: speaker placement in small room
#2943 05/07/02 09:02 PM
old hand
old hand
Hi Ravi,
I am by no means an expert, so I'm curious as to others' replies. Your room doesn't sound so small! I'm wondering a couple of things. First, do you think it might have to do with the different impedances and sensitivities of the M22s vs. the VP150? Also, for that size room, I'm wondering if the QS4s or QS8s would give a better surround field than the M3s. And maybe a 2nd EP125? Just my 2 cents.

M60s, VP150, QS8 x4 ACI Titan II sub Anthem AVM20 pre/pro Anthem PVA7 amp Panasonic DVD-RP91
#2944 05/08/02 01:38 PM
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
ChrisR,

thanks for the reply! Last night I moved my sub a little and I'm getting much better bass response now. I think a second EP125 would be overpowering in my room. I'm not a huge bass fanatic, either! I did, however, watch a movie last night and the integration of the front channels was horrible again. This time, I think it could have been the DVD itself because it's an old movies, Hackers.

I do not think the impedence has anything to do with it. Whether a speaker is 2,4,6, or 8 ohms would not change the way it integrates into a home theatre, as long as your amp can power a speaker at that impedence, which mine can.