Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
#297741 03/22/10 02:00 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,280
Likes: 3
M
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
M
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,280
Likes: 3

I want to experiment with my center channel. To bore those who know and to inform those who don’t, I am running two M22’s right now for my center channel. I am going to order a VP150 and play a bit. I want to mount the VP over my screen and keep the M22’s where they are, under the screen about 24” apart. I am using a 3808 for a pre-amp and I have ten, 200W / 8 ohm channels to use. I want to power the M22’s off one channel and the VP150 off another channel. The problem is, the 3808 only has one center channel pre-out. I’ve read (don’t recall where or who) that it is not a good idea to use a Y off the pre out. I don’t know how else I can do this without using a Y.

I know that many of you will think this is a dumb idea, and it most likely is. I just want to experiment as I don’t think anyone has ever done this before… I will more than likely just end up buying a second VP150 and mount it under the screen to have one over and one under, but for now, I just want to settle my curiosity.

So….. is using a Y a bad way to do this? Is there another way to do this?

Re: Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
michael_d #297745 03/22/10 02:08 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
I don't think it's dumb, per se. You'll just be splitting your pre-out voltage in half. As long as you're connecting each side of the split to a different amp, I don't see what problems can come from it. As you know, you can compensate for the voltage drop during calibration.


I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.
Re: Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
michael_d #297756 03/22/10 02:30 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,654
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,654
Mike, you might have read something I commented on in the past, but you don't recall the point clearly enough. The problem with Y-connectors isn't going one into two(or more), it's going two into one. When you try to combine two voltage outputs into one input simply by using a Y, the dumb voltage doesn't know that it's supposed to go only into the connected input. Instead it also runs up the other branch of the Y into the other output, causing at least distortion, and possibly damage.

So yes, Mike; no one has ever done that before. Your success with the experiment will assure your undying fame in the annals of Axiom.


-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.


Re: Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
JohnK #297778 03/22/10 03:19 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
John's answer is very confusing to me, but as I understand it, running 2 channels off a pre-out has to be how Axiom expects people to use the A1400-8 to run 2 center channels, right?

In other words, I would think that Peter's got the right answer here.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
Ken.C #297780 03/22/10 03:26 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,832
W
Wid Offline
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
W
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,832

Yes, Peter has it right.


Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud

Re: Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
Wid #297782 03/22/10 03:29 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,829
Likes: 1
C
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
C
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,829
Likes: 1
Once his tall wife puts her stamp of approval on it, then it will be official.

Re: Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
CV #297787 03/22/10 04:23 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
My wife is of average height.


I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.
Re: Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
michael_d #297801 03/22/10 07:04 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,654
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,654


-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.


Re: Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
JohnK #297808 03/22/10 11:56 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
So in summary: dividing is OK, summing is bad.

Dividing: One output driving two amps. (One sub-out to two subs.)
Summing: Two outputs being combined into one amp. (L&R outs into a mono amp.)


Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris
Re: Best way to run two channels off one pre-out?
JohnK #297812 03/22/10 02:01 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,280
Likes: 3
M
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
M
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,280
Likes: 3
 Originally Posted By: JohnK
Mike, you might have read something I commented on in the past, but you don't recall the point clearly enough. The problem with Y-connectors isn't going one into two(or more), it's going two into one. When you try to combine two voltage outputs into one input simply by using a Y, the dumb voltage doesn't know that it's supposed to go only into the connected input. Instead it also runs up the other branch of the Y into the other output, causing at least distortion, and possibly damage.

So yes, Mike; no one has ever done that before. Your success with the experiment will assure your undying fame in the annals of Axiom.


You assume too much John. The Axiom forums are not my only source of reading material. My question was specific to using a Y off an output, not to combine two outputs. I have read that that is not a good idea. Two outputs into a Y would make no sense, in any application. So what’s with the condescending tone anyway?

Peter - Thanks. That's what I thought, but wanted to verify.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,437
Posts433,086
Members15,428
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,696
CV 11,829
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (Mojo), 219 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4