You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » bi-wire set up

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#3051 - 05/13/02 05:28 PM bi-wire set up
murphyman Offline
buff

Registered: 05/09/02
Posts: 48
Loc: michigan
Is it really worth the extra cost of speaker cabel to bi-wire the m80 speakers. I read some articles on it and I know the speakers are set up for it but how much of a performance gain do you get?a little or alot?

Top
#3052 - 05/13/02 10:13 PM Re: bi-wire set up
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5171
Loc: western canada
Blunt and simple answer.
No. Biwiring does squat.
Don't waste your money.
Biamping however...now that's a whole different creature.

Chek out other posts already previously presented on this subject in these forums for more info.

_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#3053 - 06/02/02 12:16 AM Re: bi-wire set up
MattHill Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 12/14/01
Posts: 11
Loc: Mount Laurel, NJ
Well, maybe not, but with speaker wire costing $0.60/foot for plain 12-gauge cable at Home Depot, how much can it really cost you to find out for yourself?

Top
#3054 - 06/02/02 04:11 AM Re: bi-wire set up
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5171
Loc: western canada
Actually i checked this week for costs of Home Depot cable and in Canada it was $1.47/ft for 12ga, not as cheap as i thought it would be.
But biwiring doesn't do anything.
Think about this logically.
You are taking ONE signal from your receiver and then sending the IDENTICAL signal to 2 separate drivers and each driver must then figure out which range of signals are appropriate for its use.
If you took that one signal and using one wire sent it to one speaker plugin, EACH driver still has to figure out the same information.
Nothing is different.
It is analogous to using a power bar. It doesn't matter if you plugin a 120W light bulb or a 60W light bulb to the power bar, each lamp has to figure out what it needs from the SAME source.
Biamping however is taking TWO completely different power entities and setting them up to power each driver from DIFFERENT sources.
The physics makes sense.
_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#3055 - 06/02/02 07:01 AM Re: bi-wire set up
polara Offline
old hand

Registered: 05/19/02
Posts: 64
only cost 30 cents a foot in syracuse

Top
#3056 - 06/02/02 07:10 AM Re: bi-wire set up
polara Offline
old hand

Registered: 05/19/02
Posts: 64
bi wire works best for biamp
my old technics sada 10 had bi amps- when biwired-biamped sounded quite good only problem was technics sells junk.(owned 6 months used 3 weeks rest of time in the shop-then after 3 months they send a replacment unit-there cheapest unit. i wouldnt accept it .they finaly offered to buy the unit back so in 8 more weeks ill have my money agian.
i biwired my speakers to my yamaha i dont know if it made a difference or not-you could tell the differece when i did it with the technics biamp

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,619 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (Gr8_White_North)
270 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup