Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
SACD Question
#319695 08/23/10 10:52 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,434
Likes: 8
2x6spds Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,434
Likes: 8
Hello audio gurus, have a question, hope for an answer.

I picked up a Sony NS999ES DVD/SACD player. I have it hooked up as a source to an amplifier, no preamp.

Can I output SACD from the SACD player without a processor/preamp?


Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.
Re: SACD Question
2x6spds #319699 08/23/10 11:00 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
If you like listening at "reference" level, sure, you can go without attenuating the signal with a pre-amp, and run the full line into the input of your amp. It's going to be LOUD (i.e. -0 dB, 100% volume all the time).


Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris
Re: SACD Question
ClubNeon #319700 08/23/10 11:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,434
Likes: 8
2x6spds Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,434
Likes: 8
Uh oh, I was not clear. The wee T-Amp has a volume control, just no processing capability, no function control - inputs for a single source, outputs to a single pair of speakers.

Thank you CN for your quick response. So, I don't need any outboard processing to get SACD output from the player to speakers?


Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.
Re: SACD Question
2x6spds #319703 08/23/10 11:07 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
I wouldn't think so--since you're just talking stereo, you don't need to worry about level matching as you would with multichannel. Of course, with SACD, the original design has all that happening in the player in any case. So if you had, say, 6 T-amps all at the same volume level, that might even work.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: SACD Question
Ken.C #319704 08/23/10 11:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,434
Likes: 8
2x6spds Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,434
Likes: 8
Funny you should say that, I do have 6, 2 channel T-Amps which I was going to use to put together a Frankenst-amp. Haven't unpacked them yet. If only there were a low price, high value multichannel audio processor/preamp.


Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.
Re: SACD Question
2x6spds #319724 08/24/10 01:16 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
There will be variance from device to device, I wouldn't count on the same position on each dial to provide the same output level.

Hopefully the SACD player will generate pink noise (my Pioneer DV-79AVi does) so you can balance the levels of each amp. Perhaps marking a few positions on each where the output levels are equal.


Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris
Re: SACD Question
ClubNeon #319744 08/24/10 04:12 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
You might find a 2 channel mix on some SACDs, at least I recall that my Eagles DVDA had a 2 channel mix. And when I played that on my ASL WAV25's, wow, that sounded FANTASTIC.

Re: SACD Question
oldskoolboarder #319747 08/24/10 04:34 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
I think every SACD I own has a 2-channel mix. Not saying that every one will, but a good majority. There are also quite a few which only have the CD layer, and 2-channel on the SACD layer, no multi-channel at all. There are also some odd-balls which have 3-channel or quadraphonic mixes. Even a couple with 6-channel mixes, where what would normally be the sub-woofer channel is assigned a full-frequency mix, intended to be played from over-head.

But yeah, the ones I own have the CD layer, a 2-channel mix, and a 5-channel mix (don't know if most have a dedicated .1 or if it just the processor making that from the crossover point).


Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris
Re: SACD Question
ClubNeon #319755 08/24/10 05:09 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,434
Likes: 8
2x6spds Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,434
Likes: 8
There are hybrid SACD discs, that is, discs with both redbook and SACD tracks. Some SACD discs are 2 channel, some multi channel but which would play on a 2 channel system.

I played a hybrid SACD disc, Dvorak's New World Symphony - the NS999ES played in CD resolution. I tried to play the SACD Dark Side of the Moon, and no output at all.

Bummed.


Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.
Re: SACD Question
2x6spds #319756 08/24/10 06:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569
I’ve got a lot of SACDs and none of them have both multi-channel 2ch SACD audio. The multi-channels that do have 2ch tracks are as 2x6 says hybrids mostly with redbook standard CD layers.

Most if not all of my DVD-A disks have do have both multi-channel and 2ch.


3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,398
Posts432,339
Members15,419
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (nagarajbr), 253 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4