You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Stereo » The new M60 V3.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#332669 - 12/28/10 01:38 PM The new M60 V3.
cwsaona Offline
regular

Registered: 09/21/03
Posts: 9
I currently own the M60Ti and was wondering if anyone upgraded to the V3? Can someone do a direct comparison? I'm getting that itch of getting new speakers. The other thing that worries me about the new M60V3 is that it has only two binding post and not 4 like before? Is this correct? This would be a deal breaker for me. I currently run my Turntable/Tube Phono preamp/Denon poa 1500/M60ti and than My Home theatre thru a Denon 3910 / Denon 3805/ M60ti/vp150/qs8/ SVS Sub.

Top
#332670 - 12/28/10 01:48 PM Re: The new M60 V3. [Re: cwsaona]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13576
Loc: Iowa
I used to have M60ti's and now have M80V2's, which I've notied some improvement overall in sound. Axiom, through constant research and development, makes changes (some major, some minor) to the crossovers, drivers, etc. I would say from ti's to V3's they have made a lot of changes, and I would suspect in a blind A/B test the listener should be able to tell in a positive way. All the drivers and crossover are different from the TI series. But, unless you did a blind test, I'm sure the TI's still sound great.

Can't help you on the binding post issue.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#332671 - 12/28/10 01:53 PM Re: The new M60 V3. [Re: SirQuack]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Binding post issue, sounds like the bi-amping capability to me. You can do 1 of 2 things here, I believe. If your not going to bi-amp you can buy banana plugs that allows you to plug one plug into the top of another. I know those that Axiom sells that are 2 plugs in one piece allows you to do that. Another thing you can do is special order them from Axiom and have them install the 4 posts.

Top
#332672 - 12/28/10 01:56 PM Re: The new M60 V3. [Re: CatBrat]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6789
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

You run two different amps into the M60s while both are hooked up?
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#332673 - 12/28/10 02:06 PM Re: The new M60 V3. [Re: Wid]
cwsaona Offline
regular

Registered: 09/21/03
Posts: 9
Ofcourse one is always off while the other is playing. In my home theatre, everything is hooked up to the Denon 3805. Once that is off so is everything else.

Top
#332676 - 12/28/10 02:18 PM Re: The new M60 V3. [Re: cwsaona]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6789
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

The amp that is off will still be getting a signal from the one that has power. I'm real surprised you haven't damaged anything.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#332677 - 12/28/10 02:21 PM Re: The new M60 V3. [Re: CatBrat]
cwsaona Offline
regular

Registered: 09/21/03
Posts: 9
Originally Posted By: CatBrat
Binding post issue, sounds like the bi-amping capability to me. You can do 1 of 2 things here, I believe. If your not going to bi-amp you can buy banana plugs that allows you to plug one plug into the top of another. I know those that Axiom sells that are 2 plugs in one piece allows you to do that. Another thing you can do is special order them from Axiom and have them install the 4 posts.


I got you. I really hate banana Clips too. Being a military family, since I've owned My Axiom Speakers. I've lived in Colorado, Kansas, Texas, North Carolina and now Virginia. My banana clips have been bent and tossed. especially the ones that fit snug when you insert them.. Fuhgetaboutit.

Top
#332678 - 12/28/10 02:26 PM Re: The new M60 V3. [Re: cwsaona]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6789
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

If you are using the top post for one amp and the bottom for the second amp they are both getting the same signal. It would be no different than running both sets of wire to the same set of posts.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#332679 - 12/28/10 02:27 PM Re: The new M60 V3. [Re: Wid]
cwsaona Offline
regular

Registered: 09/21/03
Posts: 9
Originally Posted By: wid

The amp that is off will still be getting a signal from the one that has power. I'm real surprised you haven't damaged anything.


so you are saying that a signal from the Denon poa 1500 goes to the Axiom Speaker, Than from the Axiom speaker to the Sony Ta-n330 Amp and than to the Denon 3805?? Beside upgading components and speakers. I've been running it like that for 10 years now. I think I bought my Axiom speakers in 2002 or 2003.

Top
#332681 - 12/28/10 02:38 PM Re: The new M60 V3. [Re: cwsaona]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6789
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

You are not using a speaker selector ? I must say if not it does surprise me nothing has went up in smoke....

Google "connecting 2 amps to the same speaker" and see what others say.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,260 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,054 Topics
424,789 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13576
CV 11681
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
184 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup