Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
pre-amp out to subwoofer?
#334216 01/12/11 01:26 AM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
N
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
N
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Greetings,

I'm looking at a used NAD that has only pre-amp out and no dedicated subwoofer out. Can a pre-amp be used for a sub (EP125)?

NAD:
http://nadelectronics.com/products/hifi-amplifiers/C-320BEE-Stereo-Integrated-Amplifier

Re: pre-amp out to subwoofer?
neilhwatson #334217 01/12/11 01:28 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
If it doesn't shut off the built in amps, I would think that it would work, but I'm not sure how you'd mix the channels.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: pre-amp out to subwoofer?
Ken.C #334218 01/12/11 01:32 AM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
N
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
N
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
I'm also looking at this NAD, and it does seem to have a sub out.
http://nadelectronics.com/products/hifi-receivers/C-720BEE-Stereo-Receiver

Re: pre-amp out to subwoofer?
neilhwatson #334219 01/12/11 01:43 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 859
M
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
M
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 859
Have a look at this receiver

Plenty of power, less money and two sub outs.

I have two of them and they are very good receivers for the money.

They go on sale quite often as well, I got two for the price of one on black friday two years ago. smile


M80's(2), VP150, QS8's(2), M3's(4)
Re: pre-amp out to subwoofer?
merchman #334221 01/12/11 01:53 AM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
N
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
N
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
I like the NAD 320 because it is a bit more compact. A radio is not that useful for me as this will go into my basement office. This is for music listening, from my computer. The NAD 720 is a second choice. The HK looks very large.

Re: pre-amp out to subwoofer?
neilhwatson #334222 01/12/11 02:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 859
M
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
M
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 859
Sorry, I didn't realize that you were looking for a more compact setup. The H/K is pretty big.


M80's(2), VP150, QS8's(2), M3's(4)
Re: pre-amp out to subwoofer?
neilhwatson #334227 01/12/11 03:35 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,644
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,644
Neil, it'd be possible to arrange the 320 so that the pre-outs could feed a sub amp. The connecting links to the 320 amp would have to be removed and replaced with a Y-adaptor or cable so that both the 320 amp and the sub amp would receive signal voltages. The sub amp would need two line level inputs(the EP125, for example, has one). There really wouldn't be any benefit from going to this trouble, since the 320 would provide no bass management on the full-range signals it sent to the sub amp. A simpler solution would be to connect the speaker level outputs of the 320 in parallel to the speaker level inputs of the sub with speaker wires. The low-pass filter control of the sub would then be used to try to get a good blend with the natural roll-off of the mains.

The 720 has a fixed 100Hz low-pass filter on its combined single sub out. This may or may not blend well with the mains.


-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,357
Posts431,530
Members15,414
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,680
CV 11,791
MarkSJohnson 11,445
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 139 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4