You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » How to use axiom ceiling bracket on Qs8 install

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#345219 - 04/16/11 09:27 AM How to use axiom ceiling bracket on Qs8 install
Roxfan Offline
newbie

Registered: 04/16/11
Posts: 2
What am I missing? When I mount the ceiling bracket to the hole on the back of my new Qs8's it does not extend far enough above the top of the speaker to have enough clearence to allow placing it onto the ceiling mount. The only way I could make it work would be to put the entire bracket up and then hold the speaker up to it and put the screw in on the back which is not what the instructions say to do???

Top
#345224 - 04/16/11 09:31 AM Re: How to use axiom ceiling bracket on Qs8 install [Re: Roxfan]
bdpf Offline
aficionado

Registered: 06/28/08
Posts: 769
Loc: Toronto, Canada
I don't have experience with this but you should just call Axiom toll free number on the home page. They answer call on the weekend and will be able to assist you.
_________________________
Bruno
M80s/VP180/QS8s/EP600/AVR-890
------------------------------------
"The problem is choice..."

Top
#345225 - 04/16/11 09:33 AM Re: How to use axiom ceiling bracket on Qs8 install [Re: bdpf]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Yeah, just give them a call. I used the supplied T-bracket and mounted to the wall so can not offer any advice.
_________________________
-David

Top
#345227 - 04/16/11 10:05 AM Re: How to use axiom ceiling bracket on Qs8 install [Re: terzaghi]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3400
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Dont know if these pictures help.
The spider web allows greater weight! smile



_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3

Top
#345232 - 04/16/11 11:45 AM Re: How to use axiom ceiling bracket on Qs8 install [Re: Roxfan]
Jc Offline

aficionado

Registered: 06/27/06
Posts: 526
Loc: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada
Hi,
You should use the bottom hole of the bracket for a QS8 surround speaker model. Axiom instructions will soon reflect this recent change.
_________________________
jc

Top
#345280 - 04/16/11 10:58 PM Re: How to use axiom ceiling bracket on Qs8 install [Re: Jc]
solarrdadd Offline
devotee

Registered: 05/04/10
Posts: 310
Loc: Alexandria, VA
Originally Posted By: Jc
Hi,
You should use the bottom hole of the bracket for a QS8 surround speaker model. Axiom instructions will soon reflect this recent change.


JC, you guys are gonna have to change the size of the bottom hole because the center hole is bigger than the bottom one and the screw won't fit; had to drill it out a bit to get it to work. so people who already have those brackets (like myself but keep in mind i'm using the brackets for my QS4 speakers my QS8's are in the big room) you need to know your gonna have to drill that bottom hole to get that screw to fit. i used a 17/64 bit and it worked perfectly. it drops the speaker (QS4's) down almost 3/4".

yes everyone, i do know how this post sounds! blush crazy laugh wink


Edited by solarrdadd (04/16/11 11:00 PM)
_________________________
SonySXRD55"
Marantz AV7702MKII pre-amp
Emotiva XPA-5,UPA-2amps,
14 Speakers, All Axiom
Oppo 105D&93

Top
#345331 - 04/17/11 06:25 PM Re: How to use axiom ceiling bracket on Qs8 install [Re: solarrdadd]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13572
Loc: Iowa
Good point, not good if ya have to bore out the hole on upgrades from Qs4's.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#345343 - 04/17/11 09:18 PM Re: How to use axiom ceiling bracket on Qs8 install [Re: SirQuack]
solarrdadd Offline
devotee

Registered: 05/04/10
Posts: 310
Loc: Alexandria, VA
Originally Posted By: Randy~P
Good point, not good if ya have to bore out the hole on upgrades from Qs4's.


just so we understand i'm talking about the bottom hole on the bracket shown in the picture (they are using the center hole on the bracket) JC & I are referring to the bottom hole as the screw that comes with the bracket to attach it to the speaker only fits through the center hole. it's not about model of speaker QS4 or 8, it's about the bracket itself. here is a picture of my basement QS4v3's mounted with the bracket using the bottom hole that was drilled out.



notice it's not mounted using the center (default) mounting hole. i drilled out the bottom hole to make it just a tiny bit larger to accomidate the mounting bolt; it took about 3 minutes for each speaker. remove the speaker cables, remove the speaker from the mount, drill the lower hole, remount the speaker and connect the cables. it goes even quicker if you have someone there that you can hand the speaker and the bolt to and can swap between the speaker/bolt & the drill working with you!


Edited by solarrdadd (04/17/11 09:30 PM)
_________________________
SonySXRD55"
Marantz AV7702MKII pre-amp
Emotiva XPA-5,UPA-2amps,
14 Speakers, All Axiom
Oppo 105D&93

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,253 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,039 Topics
424,546 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11443
2 registered (ketoxdip, MarkyM)
190 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup