You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Audiobyte sub

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#348161 - 05/14/11 08:31 PM Audiobyte sub
bruceg Offline
buff

Registered: 04/23/11
Posts: 48
Loc: Missouri
I bought a set of Audiobytes w/sub & think they are great. I found another set without a sub on e-bay. I called Axiom to order a sub & was told the new Audiobyte sub would not work but I could use an EP125. I really don't need a powered sub. Any thoughts?
_________________________
Axiom Epic 80 500 QS8s
Carver TFM-55 TFM-45 TFM-35
Rotel RSP 1068
Audiobytes/W amp & sub
M22s Ep125

Top
#348163 - 05/14/11 08:37 PM Re: Audiobyte sub [Re: bruceg]
CV Online   confused
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11675
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Are you against using a powered sub? It seems like your best bet, even if you don't get it from Axiom. Maybe one of the BIC subs?

Top
#348164 - 05/14/11 08:39 PM Re: Audiobyte sub [Re: CV]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
They've changed the setup so that the sub has its own amp in the main amp. But they don't sell the Audiobyte only set with the amp that includes the sub outs.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#348165 - 05/14/11 08:40 PM Re: Audiobyte sub [Re: CV]
bruceg Offline
buff

Registered: 04/23/11
Posts: 48
Loc: Missouri
No powered is ok I just thought the passive would cost less.
_________________________
Axiom Epic 80 500 QS8s
Carver TFM-55 TFM-45 TFM-35
Rotel RSP 1068
Audiobytes/W amp & sub
M22s Ep125

Top
#348167 - 05/14/11 08:42 PM Re: Audiobyte sub [Re: Ken.C]
bruceg Offline
buff

Registered: 04/23/11
Posts: 48
Loc: Missouri
OK, thats why, Thanks
_________________________
Axiom Epic 80 500 QS8s
Carver TFM-55 TFM-45 TFM-35
Rotel RSP 1068
Audiobytes/W amp & sub
M22s Ep125

Top
#348169 - 05/14/11 08:44 PM Re: Audiobyte sub [Re: bruceg]
CV Online   confused
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11675
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Which version of the AudioBytes did you get from eBay? You already bought them?

Top
#348171 - 05/14/11 08:47 PM Re: Audiobyte sub [Re: CV]
bruceg Offline
buff

Registered: 04/23/11
Posts: 48
Loc: Missouri
The old style I guess, looks the same as the set I ordered about 3 months ago.
_________________________
Axiom Epic 80 500 QS8s
Carver TFM-55 TFM-45 TFM-35
Rotel RSP 1068
Audiobytes/W amp & sub
M22s Ep125

Top
#348173 - 05/14/11 08:58 PM Re: Audiobyte sub [Re: bruceg]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
If it's the old style and it has a sub out on the amp, you'll need to find one of the old style subs. The new ones are quite different.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#348174 - 05/14/11 09:01 PM Re: Audiobyte sub [Re: Ken.C]
bruceg Offline
buff

Registered: 04/23/11
Posts: 48
Loc: Missouri
Ok, but will any passive sub work? I can always go powered.
_________________________
Axiom Epic 80 500 QS8s
Carver TFM-55 TFM-45 TFM-35
Rotel RSP 1068
Audiobytes/W amp & sub
M22s Ep125

Top
#348175 - 05/14/11 09:08 PM Re: Audiobyte sub [Re: bruceg]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
No, you'll need to use either the one that goes with that set (if it says v3 on the set and has no sub out, you're out of luck) or a powered one.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,624 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
2 registered (CV, exlabdriver)
205 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup