You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Error opening program

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#350143 - 06/14/11 05:44 AM Error opening program
J. B. Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/19/11
Posts: 1291
Loc: Quebec, Canada
2 days ago i upgraded (reinstalled) Win7 and Photoshop cs4 could not be started anymore.
i reinstalled Ps. with the same result again.

Yesterday, i reinstalled Win7 again and then Ps. again.
same result.

every time i try to start Ps. a notice says: Photoshop was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b).

i looked that kind of error on the Internet and there are many answers, both complicated and simple ones.
One of them said that most probably the reason was in component services/services (local) there was a badly configured service.
I reviewed all the services and think they're ok.
then i uninstalled Ps. and cleaned up everything in the registry that pertained to Ps, as also on C drive.

then i reinstalled Ps, but i still can't use it.

the only thing left for me to do is to wipe C drive and reinstall W7 and all my programs; something i don't like to do;

does anyone have a solution to make that Ps. work?
_________________________
See: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/gallery.php?member=Gelli
or: Axiom Gallery

Top
#350147 - 06/14/11 07:47 AM Re: Error opening program [Re: J. B.]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13567
Loc: Iowa
Is that version compatible with 7?
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#350151 - 06/14/11 08:00 AM Re: Error opening program [Re: SirQuack]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
I hear that when you play a Windows disk backwards, you hear Satan.
However, even more scary is that if you play it forward.... it installs Windows.

Seriously though.
Could be a 32 bit vs. 64 bit issue. Which versions do you have?
Also is it a legit version? A buddy of mine had issues with cracked 64 bit Ps and had to 'purchase' the 32 bit version for his 64 bit OS.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#350154 - 06/14/11 08:11 AM Re: Error opening program [Re: Murph]
J. B. Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/19/11
Posts: 1291
Loc: Quebec, Canada
both Win7 and Ps are 64 bit versions and they worked well together (for more than a year) until 2 days ago when i reinstalled W7.


Edited by J. B. (06/14/11 08:13 AM)
_________________________
See: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/gallery.php?member=Gelli
or: Axiom Gallery

Top
#350156 - 06/14/11 08:27 AM Re: Error opening program [Re: J. B.]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
When you re install an OS, even the same version from the same CD, you are often likely to upgrade drivers that may have otherwise been left at an old version. Perhaps it is not so much Windows itself but a new, less compatible, version of a driver. Video card being the first I would check. You could try rolling back any possible suspects.

That's all I will make uneducated guesses at. Some experts will show up soon.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#350170 - 06/14/11 10:52 AM Re: Error opening program [Re: Murph]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Did you install all the updates for Photoshop?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#350200 - 06/14/11 01:46 PM Re: Error opening program [Re: Ken.C]
J. B. Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/19/11
Posts: 1291
Loc: Quebec, Canada
yes, i have installed the latest update for Ps, quite a long time ago.
_________________________
See: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/gallery.php?member=Gelli
or: Axiom Gallery

Top
#350202 - 06/14/11 01:53 PM Re: Error opening program [Re: J. B.]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11677
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
But you've reinstalled Photoshop since installing the updates?

Top
#350205 - 06/14/11 02:14 PM Re: Error opening program [Re: CV]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
How would you update it if you can't open the program?
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#350206 - 06/14/11 02:38 PM Re: Error opening program [Re: Ya_basta]
J. B. Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/19/11
Posts: 1291
Loc: Quebec, Canada
it's easy, i install Photoshop and after that i install the Ps. update.
it's when i try to open it that it does not work.
_________________________
See: http://www.blu-ray.com/community/gallery.php?member=Gelli
or: Axiom Gallery

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,224 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,992 Topics
424,052 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13567
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
77 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup