You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » HDMI Question

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#355256 - 09/21/11 08:09 PM HDMI Question
1sweetspot Offline
veteran

Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 175
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta
Hey all,

I have an HDMI 1.3 receiver and a 3D TV. Using a PS3 as my 3D player, I'm forced to connect the video directly to the TV via HDMI and audio to my receiver via optical cable. This obviously means that I cannot get uncompressed audio to my receiver.

Just wondering if anyone knows of a product (some kind of splitter?) that will allow me to split the HDMI signal so that the video section goes to my TV but the audio goes to my receiver using just the one HDMI out on my PS3 allowing me to get True HD and Master Audio?

Top
#355269 - 09/21/11 10:43 PM Re: HDMI Question [Re: 1sweetspot]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5338
Loc: Marion, IA
I am confused. If you can plug HDMI into your receiver, and you can plug HDMI into the TV, why not send everything through the receiver and then from the receiver out to the TV? The receiver would pass the video to the TV and yet do the audio decoding that you are looking for...

PS3 ==HDMI==> Receiver ==HDMI==> TV
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#355283 - 09/22/11 01:00 AM Re: HDMI Question [Re: nickbuol]
1sweetspot Offline
veteran

Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 175
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta
The problem is that because my receiver is only HDMI 1.3 (not 1.4) compliant, it will not pass throught the 3D signal. So I'm forced to either compromise the HD sound or the 3D video.

Top
#355300 - 09/22/11 08:35 AM Re: HDMI Question [Re: 1sweetspot]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
dur


Edited by Ken.C (09/22/11 08:35 AM)
Edit Reason: not reading properly

Top
#355301 - 09/22/11 09:30 AM Re: HDMI Question [Re: Ken.C]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5338
Loc: Marion, IA
Doh. Missed that. Sorry...
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#355315 - 09/22/11 11:32 AM Re: HDMI Question [Re: nickbuol]
casey01 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 852
Loc: Toronto
Yep, a disconcerting dilemma to be sure. This is the nature of present day consumer electronics, when they make changes you have to get the whole package. I have yet to see a splitter on the market that is 1.4 compatible, however, you will still face the dilemma of having to do something to obtain the lossless audio from your AVR. I don't believe the PS3 has 7.1 analog outs so you can't do it that way.

I guess it is inevitable that you will have to spend some money so the lesser of two evils would be to buy a separate player like the Oppo which has dual HDMI outs so you can split the audio and video to obtain what you desire. Other than that you will have to update your AVR if you want to use it as a complete A/V switching center and obtain 3D pictures from your player and monitor.

Top
#355362 - 09/22/11 07:58 PM Re: HDMI Question [Re: casey01]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Drop the 3D video and stick with HD sound. wink
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#355369 - 09/22/11 08:27 PM Re: HDMI Question [Re: jakewash]
mwc Offline
aficionado

Registered: 07/21/02
Posts: 958
Loc: Texas(DFW)..that country to th...
Quote:
Drop the 3D video and stick with HD sound.


No brainer here. I'd take the HD sound anytime over 3D. Besides, 3D makes me queezy. crazy
_________________________
I live the life I love and I love the life I live.

Top
#355370 - 09/22/11 08:39 PM Re: HDMI Question [Re: mwc]
1sweetspot Offline
veteran

Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 175
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta
Found this while searching around. Seems like the most economical solution. Think it'll work?


http://www.monoprice.com/products/produc...=1&format=2

Considering this article looks like HDMI 1.3b (the switchers max) will support 3D but only up to 1080i. Looks like something will be compromised either way...hmph.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#Versions



Top
#355374 - 09/22/11 09:06 PM Re: HDMI Question [Re: 1sweetspot]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
If you wait a while as 1.4 takes even better hold of the market, I am sure someone will produce a switcher/splitter you require.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,270 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,072 Topics
425,100 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11694
MarkSJohnson 11444
2 registered (exlabdriver, CV)
192 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup