You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Using an avr and separate amp together

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#364624 - 01/23/12 08:12 PM Using an avr and separate amp together
Muzz Offline
regular

Registered: 01/02/12
Posts: 9
Loc: Beijing
I'm planning on m80s driven by a hk990 integrated amp(~300wpc@4ohms) in a 2 ch setup then adding an avr later to power the surrounds. I hope to still use the hk990 to drive the m80 front mains through the avr's front ch pre outs.
My Q is, will I run into any balance/level issues if the avr has much lower rated power(say,60-80wpc)?
Am I correct in assuming that avr's pre output settings can be changed to balance things out for multi channel surround?
Any other issues that I should consider?
This would be my first HT setup.
Thanks for any advice.

Top
#364627 - 01/23/12 08:21 PM Re: Using an avr and separate amp together [Re: Muzz]
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
Once you use the AVRs pre-outs to power the speakers (your M80s) only the amp's (your HK 990) power will be used, the AVR won't do anything but control the volume and act as the processor ... EZPZ

I use a Rotel RB-1080 to power my M80s with a 85 watt per channel HK AVR3600 to do the processing.
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#364628 - 01/23/12 08:28 PM Re: Using an avr and separate amp together [Re: RickF]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13572
Loc: Iowa
But since this is a 2 channel stereo integrated amp, can that really be hooked to an AVR to act as just an amp?
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#364629 - 01/23/12 08:31 PM Re: Using an avr and separate amp together [Re: SirQuack]
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
Oh.

I misunderstood. In that case, Muzz ... I don't know!
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#364630 - 01/23/12 08:43 PM Re: Using an avr and separate amp together [Re: RickF]
Muzz Offline
regular

Registered: 01/02/12
Posts: 9
Loc: Beijing
The hk990 has a main-in that bypasses the preamp section. So I'm wondering if I use the hk990 to power the fronts (m80s) by connecting to front ch pre outs on an avr but connect the surrounds directly to speaker outputs of the avr will I have a balance issue? Sorry for the confusion

Top
#364631 - 01/23/12 08:44 PM Re: Using an avr and separate amp together [Re: RickF]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13572
Loc: Iowa
I'm not sure either Rick. Like you, I use a seperate amp hooked to my Denon to drive all my Axs.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#364632 - 01/23/12 08:58 PM Re: Using an avr and separate amp together [Re: Muzz]
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
Originally Posted By: Muzz
The hk990 has a main-in that bypasses the preamp section. So I'm wondering if I use the hk990 to power the fronts (m80s) by connecting to front ch pre outs on an avr but connect the surrounds directly to speaker outputs of the avr will I have a balance issue? Sorry for the confusion


*I* wouldn't believe there would be an issue but stick around for a bit and somebody quite a lot more knowledgeable than myself will show up.
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#364633 - 01/23/12 09:03 PM Re: Using an avr and separate amp together [Re: RickF]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13572
Loc: Iowa
Muzz, from what you describe it does sound possible. The AVR would power the rest of the speakers, and the HK's amp section would power the m80's. I'm sure someone else will confirm this soon. In regards to balancing out everything, you would still do this with the AVR when you run the auto setup like Audyssey on the Denon's, or one of the others offered by Yamaha, Pioneer, etc..
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#364634 - 01/23/12 09:12 PM Re: Using an avr and separate amp together [Re: SirQuack]
Muzz Offline
regular

Registered: 01/02/12
Posts: 9
Loc: Beijing
That's what I was thinking but I'm no HT guru. I know many avr's are configured for connection of an external amp for another room or 2 more channels 7.1 or 9.1 but not sure about the front mains. I'd like to get away with a more affordable avr to power modest surrounds but with m80s at 4 ohms Id like to use the bigger hk990 for them.

Top
#364636 - 01/23/12 09:23 PM Re: Using an avr and separate amp together [Re: Muzz]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13572
Loc: Iowa
I'm sure JohnK or someone else will be along soon. Again, if you can configure the 990 to act as just an amplifier, and ignore the preamp section it might work. I would think you would just hook up the the AVR preouts for the front L/R channels to the HK amp inputs using RCA interconnects, then run speaker wires from the HK to the M80's. The other speakers would be hooked to the AVRs standard speaker posts.

Again, I could be way wrong.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,255 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,039 Topics
424,557 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
190 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup