Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Using an avr and separate amp together
#364624 01/24/12 01:12 AM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
M
Muzz Offline OP
regular
OP Offline
regular
M
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
I'm planning on m80s driven by a hk990 integrated amp(~300wpc@4ohms) in a 2 ch setup then adding an avr later to power the surrounds. I hope to still use the hk990 to drive the m80 front mains through the avr's front ch pre outs.
My Q is, will I run into any balance/level issues if the avr has much lower rated power(say,60-80wpc)?
Am I correct in assuming that avr's pre output settings can be changed to balance things out for multi channel surround?
Any other issues that I should consider?
This would be my first HT setup.
Thanks for any advice.

Re: Using an avr and separate amp together
Muzz #364627 01/24/12 01:21 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,210
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,210
Once you use the AVRs pre-outs to power the speakers (your M80s) only the amp's (your HK 990) power will be used, the AVR won't do anything but control the volume and act as the processor ... EZPZ

I use a Rotel RB-1080 to power my M80s with a 85 watt per channel HK AVR3600 to do the processing.


Rick
Our Room

smile
Re: Using an avr and separate amp together
RickF #364628 01/24/12 01:28 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
But since this is a 2 channel stereo integrated amp, can that really be hooked to an AVR to act as just an amp?


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: Using an avr and separate amp together
SirQuack #364629 01/24/12 01:31 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,210
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,210
Oh.

I misunderstood. In that case, Muzz ... I don't know!


Rick
Our Room

smile
Re: Using an avr and separate amp together
RickF #364630 01/24/12 01:43 AM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
M
Muzz Offline OP
regular
OP Offline
regular
M
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
The hk990 has a main-in that bypasses the preamp section. So I'm wondering if I use the hk990 to power the fronts (m80s) by connecting to front ch pre outs on an avr but connect the surrounds directly to speaker outputs of the avr will I have a balance issue? Sorry for the confusion

Re: Using an avr and separate amp together
RickF #364631 01/24/12 01:44 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
I'm not sure either Rick. Like you, I use a seperate amp hooked to my Denon to drive all my Axs.


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: Using an avr and separate amp together
Muzz #364632 01/24/12 01:58 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,210
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,210
Originally Posted By: Muzz
The hk990 has a main-in that bypasses the preamp section. So I'm wondering if I use the hk990 to power the fronts (m80s) by connecting to front ch pre outs on an avr but connect the surrounds directly to speaker outputs of the avr will I have a balance issue? Sorry for the confusion


*I* wouldn't believe there would be an issue but stick around for a bit and somebody quite a lot more knowledgeable than myself will show up.


Rick
Our Room

smile
Re: Using an avr and separate amp together
RickF #364633 01/24/12 02:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
Muzz, from what you describe it does sound possible. The AVR would power the rest of the speakers, and the HK's amp section would power the m80's. I'm sure someone else will confirm this soon. In regards to balancing out everything, you would still do this with the AVR when you run the auto setup like Audyssey on the Denon's, or one of the others offered by Yamaha, Pioneer, etc..


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: Using an avr and separate amp together
SirQuack #364634 01/24/12 02:12 AM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
M
Muzz Offline OP
regular
OP Offline
regular
M
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
That's what I was thinking but I'm no HT guru. I know many avr's are configured for connection of an external amp for another room or 2 more channels 7.1 or 9.1 but not sure about the front mains. I'd like to get away with a more affordable avr to power modest surrounds but with m80s at 4 ohms Id like to use the bigger hk990 for them.

Re: Using an avr and separate amp together
Muzz #364636 01/24/12 02:23 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
I'm sure JohnK or someone else will be along soon. Again, if you can configure the 990 to act as just an amplifier, and ignore the preamp section it might work. I would think you would just hook up the the AVR preouts for the front L/R channels to the HK amp inputs using RCA interconnects, then run speaker wires from the HK to the M80's. The other speakers would be hooked to the AVRs standard speaker posts.

Again, I could be way wrong.


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,422
Posts432,829
Members15,425
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,693
CV 11,825
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (BBIBH), 216 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4