Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
New RX-A1000
#371127 03/27/12 02:11 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
My Denon has the dreaded network issue, so its off to the doctor in Vancouver BC. Looks like a month minimum before its fixed . Shipping is a week each way and the doc says 2 weeks minimum to fix.

I cant go that long without an amp so i was all prepared to pick a Yamaha RX-A2010 . Went to the local audio store here, the only one we have and looked at a 2010 but it was 1200 beans.I noticed they had last years RX-A1000 on for 650 so i grabbed one up. Havent done much with it yet but its alot easier to operate (intuitive) than my Denon.Probly give it to my dad when the denon cames back. One feature it doesnt have is front wide only height, they call it presence.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: New RX-A1000
Gr8_White_North #371129 03/27/12 02:29 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 861
Likes: 1
C
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
C
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 861
Likes: 1
Originally Posted By: Socketman
My Denon has the dreaded network issue, so its off to the doctor in Vancouver BC. Looks like a month minimum before its fixed . Shipping is a week each way and the doc says 2 weeks minimum to fix.

I cant go that long without an amp so i was all prepared to pick a Yamaha RX-A2010 . Went to the local audio store here, the only one we have and looked at a 2010 but it was 1200 beans.I noticed they had last years RX-A1000 on for 650 so i grabbed one up. Havent done much with it yet but its alot easier to operate (intuitive) than my Denon.Probly give it to my dad when the denon cames back. One feature it doesnt have is front wide only height, they call it presence.



I bought the Yamaha RXA-2000 last years model and I honestly couldn't be happier. I already had an extra outboard amp so I could utilize the 9.2 format which unlike the height/wide deal is always in play. One thing that the Yamaha has always had which I have enjoyed in previous incarnations is their DSP programs which have been around in one form or another for years but primarily the excellent movie theater programs which are adjustable in a number of parameters to match your taste. These programs unlike any other format, give the illusion of a much larger space designed to mimic a movie theater. The height/wide set-ups give more coverage than the standard 5.1 but still you are limited to the space in which the sound emanates.

Re: New RX-A1000
casey01 #371145 03/27/12 03:30 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
I only added the wides to my setup because i bought M80's and had the M2's hanging about. I really cant say one way or another if they make much difference in my small room.I will be checking out all of its features probly on the weekend and try some of its dsp modes. The Denon uses its own proprietary width and height system.The denon doesnt have any of the dsp modes yamaha offers. I use a xpa 3 for my fronts/center and the surround run off the reciever so power is not an issue.Glad to hear you like your yamaha,this may be a keeper only time will tell.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: New RX-A1000
Gr8_White_North #371149 03/27/12 03:56 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,654
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,654
Richard, as Casey indicates, the Yamaha "presence" effect isn't in the same category as the Denon "height" channel. It's a result of content not in the original source material which gets added by DSP processing. The Denon uses the licensed Dolby DPLIIz or Audyssey DSX to extract content already present in the material and sends it to the height speakers.


-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.


Re: New RX-A1000
Gr8_White_North #371356 03/28/12 06:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
im ashamed. turns out i didnt need this amp after all.

Hooked up the yamaha and it connected to the net and said it needed a firmware update but did not do it right away.late that nite my phone was giving me fits so i went into the router config and the ip address range was messed up. I set up reserved ip's based on mac adresss and everything worked as it had.

last nite i got to do the firware update on the yamaha and it would not connect to the server. I checked the network dhcp settings on the yamaha and they wre all out of range. I set a static ip and was then able to do the firmware update. this got me thinking, so i unboxed the denon took it ot my room and put it on the network,gave it couple minutes and then it worked fine.


Ever since i started having problems with this i had been able to access the denon interface on my computer just couldnt get it to connect to the internet. That shoulda been my clue. So now i have an reciever that needs a home.


Now its got me thinkin m2's ,vp 100 and the rxa 1000 in my bedroom . damn


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: New RX-A1000
Gr8_White_North #371363 03/28/12 07:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
IP phones in your home? Cool. Curious, what are you using for PBX software on your router or server..... or is this a Telco solution.?

Last edited by Murph; 03/28/12 07:37 PM. Reason: messed up the first

With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.
Re: New RX-A1000
Gr8_White_North #371391 03/28/12 10:37 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
my bad, just my cell phone for getting apps. Up till 2 weeks ago our isp was blocking the magic jack and god knows what else. I have looked at a pbx setup but i have no more room for another box and a waste of electricity. No one calls me anyway lol.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: New RX-A1000
Gr8_White_North #371455 03/29/12 11:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,955
Hah, I hear you. The only reason we have a land line ourselves is because I work for a phone company. The only time it rings is when my mother in law calls. She refuses to use any other number.


With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,422
Posts432,829
Members15,425
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,693
CV 11,825
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (BBIBH), 216 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4