You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » The Water Cooler » New RX-A1000

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#371127 - 03/26/12 10:11 PM New RX-A1000
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2242
Loc: Whitehorse YT
My Denon has the dreaded network issue, so its off to the doctor in Vancouver BC. Looks like a month minimum before its fixed . Shipping is a week each way and the doc says 2 weeks minimum to fix.

I cant go that long without an amp so i was all prepared to pick a Yamaha RX-A2010 . Went to the local audio store here, the only one we have and looked at a 2010 but it was 1200 beans.I noticed they had last years RX-A1000 on for 650 so i grabbed one up. Havent done much with it yet but its alot easier to operate (intuitive) than my Denon.Probly give it to my dad when the denon cames back. One feature it doesnt have is front wide only height, they call it presence.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#371129 - 03/26/12 10:29 PM Re: New RX-A1000 [Re: Gr8_White_North]
casey01 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 852
Loc: Toronto
Originally Posted By: Socketman
My Denon has the dreaded network issue, so its off to the doctor in Vancouver BC. Looks like a month minimum before its fixed . Shipping is a week each way and the doc says 2 weeks minimum to fix.

I cant go that long without an amp so i was all prepared to pick a Yamaha RX-A2010 . Went to the local audio store here, the only one we have and looked at a 2010 but it was 1200 beans.I noticed they had last years RX-A1000 on for 650 so i grabbed one up. Havent done much with it yet but its alot easier to operate (intuitive) than my Denon.Probly give it to my dad when the denon cames back. One feature it doesnt have is front wide only height, they call it presence.



I bought the Yamaha RXA-2000 last years model and I honestly couldn't be happier. I already had an extra outboard amp so I could utilize the 9.2 format which unlike the height/wide deal is always in play. One thing that the Yamaha has always had which I have enjoyed in previous incarnations is their DSP programs which have been around in one form or another for years but primarily the excellent movie theater programs which are adjustable in a number of parameters to match your taste. These programs unlike any other format, give the illusion of a much larger space designed to mimic a movie theater. The height/wide set-ups give more coverage than the standard 5.1 but still you are limited to the space in which the sound emanates.

Top
#371145 - 03/26/12 11:30 PM Re: New RX-A1000 [Re: casey01]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2242
Loc: Whitehorse YT
I only added the wides to my setup because i bought M80's and had the M2's hanging about. I really cant say one way or another if they make much difference in my small room.I will be checking out all of its features probly on the weekend and try some of its dsp modes. The Denon uses its own proprietary width and height system.The denon doesnt have any of the dsp modes yamaha offers. I use a xpa 3 for my fronts/center and the surround run off the reciever so power is not an issue.Glad to hear you like your yamaha,this may be a keeper only time will tell.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#371149 - 03/26/12 11:56 PM Re: New RX-A1000 [Re: Gr8_White_North]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10626
Richard, as Casey indicates, the Yamaha "presence" effect isn't in the same category as the Denon "height" channel. It's a result of content not in the original source material which gets added by DSP processing. The Denon uses the licensed Dolby DPLIIz or Audyssey DSX to extract content already present in the material and sends it to the height speakers.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#371356 - 03/28/12 02:18 PM Re: New RX-A1000 [Re: Gr8_White_North]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2242
Loc: Whitehorse YT
im ashamed. turns out i didnt need this amp after all.

Hooked up the yamaha and it connected to the net and said it needed a firmware update but did not do it right away.late that nite my phone was giving me fits so i went into the router config and the ip address range was messed up. I set up reserved ip's based on mac adresss and everything worked as it had.

last nite i got to do the firware update on the yamaha and it would not connect to the server. I checked the network dhcp settings on the yamaha and they wre all out of range. I set a static ip and was then able to do the firmware update. this got me thinking, so i unboxed the denon took it ot my room and put it on the network,gave it couple minutes and then it worked fine.


Ever since i started having problems with this i had been able to access the denon interface on my computer just couldnt get it to connect to the internet. That shoulda been my clue. So now i have an reciever that needs a home.


Now its got me thinkin m2's ,vp 100 and the rxa 1000 in my bedroom . damn
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#371363 - 03/28/12 03:36 PM Re: New RX-A1000 [Re: Gr8_White_North]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
IP phones in your home? Cool. Curious, what are you using for PBX software on your router or server..... or is this a Telco solution.?


Edited by Murph (03/28/12 03:37 PM)
Edit Reason: messed up the first
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#371391 - 03/28/12 06:37 PM Re: New RX-A1000 [Re: Gr8_White_North]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2242
Loc: Whitehorse YT
my bad, just my cell phone for getting apps. Up till 2 weeks ago our isp was blocking the magic jack and god knows what else. I have looked at a pbx setup but i have no more room for another box and a waste of electricity. No one calls me anyway lol.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#371455 - 03/29/12 07:43 AM Re: New RX-A1000 [Re: Gr8_White_North]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
Hah, I hear you. The only reason we have a land line ourselves is because I work for a phone company. The only time it rings is when my mother in law calls. She refuses to use any other number.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,244 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,027 Topics
424,370 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (exlabdriver)
184 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup