You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Axiom 1000 Amp Hum

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#382678 - 09/10/12 09:18 PM Axiom 1000 Amp Hum
IronHorse63 Offline
regular

Registered: 09/10/12
Posts: 9
Loc: Alabama
I just received my Axiom 1000 7 channel amp and I'm having issues with it. The only sound I get out of my 7 channel system is a loud hum. I'm using RCA inputs, front speakers are connected to channels 1 and 2, side surrounds connected to 3 and 4, rear surround connected to 5 and 6, and center channel has one connector on channel 7. Any ideas on what is going on with my amp????

Top
#382684 - 09/10/12 09:59 PM Re: Axiom 1000 Amp Hum [Re: IronHorse63]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2232
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Welcome aboard . smile Just a little more info would help. What reciever or Pre is driving the amp. Have you used the preouts on your reciever prior to this. Sorry your first visit here had to be sour grapes hopefully this will get sorted.


Edited by Socketman (09/10/12 10:00 PM)
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#382687 - 09/10/12 10:10 PM Re: Axiom 1000 Amp Hum [Re: Gr8_White_North]
IronHorse63 Offline
regular

Registered: 09/10/12
Posts: 9
Loc: Alabama
Sorry about that! I have an Onkyo TX-NR709 and I have not used the preouts prior to this.

Top
#382693 - 09/10/12 10:39 PM Re: Axiom 1000 Amp Hum [Re: IronHorse63]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2232
Loc: Whitehorse YT
My suggestion would be to find something to test the new amp with. an ipod with an adapter to rca would work. Not sure what you have on hand. Seems odd it would be all channels of the new amp. Perhaps a reset of your reciever would be worth a shot.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#382694 - 09/10/12 10:40 PM Re: Axiom 1000 Amp Hum [Re: IronHorse63]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
My money is on a ground loop... I had the EXACT same issue with my amps when i got Time Warner cable installed.... if you unplug your cable box and play music from a CD, do you still have the same Hum...


If you unplug the cable box, unplug the coaxial cable, as well as disconnect the cable box from your receiver.

The solution is a ground loop isolator, which is about 50$.. I bought 2 of them from Axiom... One for each room i have a stereo in..


On a side note, it is highly unlikely it is the amp.. Axiom is putting each amp on the test bench before they ship, to verify everything is good to go...


Edited by dakkon (09/10/12 10:41 PM)

Top
#382695 - 09/10/12 10:50 PM Re: Axiom 1000 Amp Hum [Re: IronHorse63]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10623
Don, welcome. The first point is that you're plugged into the outputs specifically labeled "pre out" on the 709. It's extremely unlikely that all the pre-outs are defective, but you can plug one or more of them into your powered sub amplifier to check them for output.

If the pre-outs have output, call Axiom about the 1000.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#382696 - 09/10/12 10:52 PM Re: Axiom 1000 Amp Hum [Re: dakkon]
IronHorse63 Offline
regular

Registered: 09/10/12
Posts: 9
Loc: Alabama
Sounds reasonable. I heard the hum coming from my subwoofer shortly after I plugged the rca cables into the Onkyo's preouts. It's weird that I did not have any sound beyond the hum. I should have at least heard some music. I will try hooking my ipod up to the amp via the cradle I have and see if it still hums. Thanks!

Top
#382697 - 09/10/12 11:00 PM Re: Axiom 1000 Amp Hum [Re: JohnK]
IronHorse63 Offline
regular

Registered: 09/10/12
Posts: 9
Loc: Alabama
John, I double checked just to be sure and I used only the preouts from my Onkyo TX-NR709. I've been hooking up my own gear for years and have heard ground loop feedback on some amps I've had through the years. It only took a simple filter to fix it. The difference here is that I have no sound other than the loud hum. I have unhooked all the individual cables to check for a bad cable. I'm leaning toward a amp issue on this one.

Top
#382698 - 09/10/12 11:00 PM Re: Axiom 1000 Amp Hum [Re: IronHorse63]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10623
This may sound silly, but it's happened before: make sure that you're not plugged into the 709's multi-channel inputs to the left of the pre outs.

Edit: okay you've apparently double-checked that already.


Edited by JohnK (09/10/12 11:02 PM)
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#382699 - 09/10/12 11:07 PM Re: Axiom 1000 Amp Hum [Re: JohnK]
IronHorse63 Offline
regular

Registered: 09/10/12
Posts: 9
Loc: Alabama
John, you definitely made me laugh because I'm not above doing something like that after having some fine IPA from my beloved left coast. Yet on this occasion I correctly hooked them up. The problem has inspired me to take a break and enjoy a pint whilst I ponder this further.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,238 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,017 Topics
424,294 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
45 Guests and
5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup