Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Denon 2809 CI so hard to set up
#383189 09/23/12 08:46 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
R
ron3033 Offline OP
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
R
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
I have a d
Denon 2809 CI, I doubt it has 4 hours of use. I got so frustrated that I gave up on it. My wife watches tv using the speakers in the 52" Samsung. Yes I know......
But I have got to get her going. I thought I followed the Audyssey properly, but then again maybe not as it was in summer 2009. Yes I know.....

In the mean time I listen to my music upstairs on my Axiom ax 2 reference series speakers on my Sony STR GX67ES.

I also printed batpig instructions for Denon, so I need to read and read the Denon manual too. But any advice ahead you may be helpful to me.

I expect I will end up asking a lot of questions that may seem easy to those who more knowledgable about this. It will be a bit before I tackle the proceedure, as I need to read and do a few other priority things first, but please be patient and I will get to it. But I thought I would at least take a small step forward, as it has sat unused so long.
Thanks
ron3033

Re: Denon 2809 CI so hard to set up
ron3033 #383195 09/23/12 10:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
J
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
J
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
Ron, welcome.
on this page, you should find the answer to all the questions you have about calibrating with Audyssey; don't forget the Audyssey setup guide link near the top of the post.
it looks complicated, but when you've done it once, then you will find it is really simple to do.

come back to us if you're not sure about something.

Re: Denon 2809 CI so hard to set up
J. B. #383197 09/23/12 11:41 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
R
ron3033 Offline OP
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
R
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Originally Posted By: J. B.
Ron, welcome.
on this page, you should find the answer to all the questions you have about calibrating with Audyssey; don't forget the Audyssey setup guide link near the top of the post.
it looks complicated, but when you've done it once, then you will find it is really simple to do.

come back to us if you're not sure about something.


Thanks J.B. where is the Audyssey setup guide link near the top of the post? I must be missing s step finding it.
Thanks
ron3033

Re: Denon 2809 CI so hard to set up
ron3033 #383198 09/23/12 11:41 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
The thing that bugs me most about Denon is the user-hostile menus. They seem to always change and in fact they do.

The options you will see on a menu screen at any given time are those specific to the current mode that amplifier is set to (i.e. DTS 5.1, Stereo, TrueHD 7.1 etc...). The amp will be set to the last played media file.

I can't tell you how many times I have looked for a specific setting I knew I had seen before but just could not find it. It is incredibly frustrating. The menus should not change, if a setting does not apply to the current playback mode, dim it, don't hide it.

Anyway, I've had two Denons, I like them and they work very well with my HTPC which is the only device I use.

Audyssey is great for room correction. It works great but I find that low freq LFE needs to ne turned up at least 3 db from what Audyssey sets.

One of my favorite features is Quick Select. Check if your model has it. I wanted different settings for music vs. movies. Basically, for music I use Audyssey Flat (no high freq roll off) and I lower the LFE volume. For movies I want Audyssey (high freq roll off) and I crank up LFE.


For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert.
Re: Denon 2809 CI so hard to set up
Boltron #383200 09/23/12 11:55 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
R
ron3033 Offline OP
frequent flier
OP Offline
frequent flier
R
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Boltron

thanks.... I like your saying at the bottom of your posting. Do you know where the Audyssey link that J.B. mentioned in the above post?

Thanks
ron3033

Re: Denon 2809 CI so hard to set up
ron3033 #383205 09/24/12 12:26 AM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 172
I don't know that one but AVS has a good resource.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/795421/official-audyssey-thread-faq-in-post-1


For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert.
Re: Denon 2809 CI so hard to set up
Boltron #383217 09/24/12 02:38 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 185
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 185
Originally Posted By: Boltron

Audyssey is great for room correction. It works great but I find that low freq LFE needs to ne turned up at least 3 db from what Audyssey sets.

One of my favorite features is Quick Select. Check if your model has it. I wanted different settings for music vs. movies. Basically, for music I use Audyssey Flat (no high freq roll off) and I lower the LFE volume. For movies I want Audyssey (high freq roll off) and I crank up LFE.



I agree pretty much with your entire post; but I just wanted to add that when I manually adjust the LFE sub out on my AVR2311-CI; I have to adjust that setting and lock it in on each of my quick selects that I want changed.
Bill

Re: Denon 2809 CI so hard to set up
ron3033 #383224 09/24/12 11:13 AM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
J
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
J
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
Originally Posted By: ron3033
Originally Posted By: J. B.
Ron, welcome.
on this page, you should find the answer to all the questions you have about calibrating with Audyssey; don't forget the Audyssey setup guide link near the top of the post.
it looks complicated, but when you've done it once, then you will find it is really simple to do.

come back to us if you're not sure about something.


Thanks J.B. where is the Audyssey setup guide link near the top of the post? I must be missing s step finding it.
Thanks
ron3033


Ron, here's the link:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/795421/official-audyssey-thread-faq-in-post-1/5700#post_14456895
it's right below this line: "The Audyssey FAQ" at the address Boltron gave you. (sorry i forgot to write the address in my post).

i too have found that the sub level has to be increased by 3 dB in order to get a flat to the ear fr. resp.

Last edited by J. B.; 09/24/12 11:21 AM.

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,437
Posts433,090
Members15,428
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,696
CV 11,829
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 214 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4