Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
1 registered (michael_d), 38 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13359 Members
11 Forums
23077 Topics
408033 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17843
pmbuko 16319
SirQuack 13356
CV 11388
MarkSJohnson 11061
Meanwhile On Facebook

⚠ Only 5 days left in our Computer Speaker Presale! http://www.axiomaudio.com/c...

(y) Love this review a customer sent us recently: "Bottom line, these speakers...

❔ The new M1 High Powered Computer Speaker uses Axiom's latest full one-inch twe...

High Powered Computer Speaker - Preorder Sale!

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#380488 - 07/21/12 03:23 AM Upgrade AudioByte Cables - Stereo or Mono Plugs?
jmone Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 164
Loc: Sydney Australia
I'm looking at getting some better cables to run from the AudioByte amp to the speakers (L,R,Sub) to see if it helps supress some low frequence Hum I get on the Sub. I'm a bit confused as the current ones are 3.5mm Stereo leads to each speakers but I would have presumed they would be 3.5mm Mono. Can anyone confirm what is needed.

Thanks
Nathan
_________________________
HT:M80s,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:2 Pair M3 1 Pair M22 Office:AudioBytes, Games Room: M60,VP150

Top
#380489 - 07/21/12 03:31 AM Re: Upgrade AudioByte Cables - Stereo or Mono Plugs? [Re: jmone]
jmone Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 164
Loc: Sydney Australia
I may also try just adding some ferrite cores to the existing cable....
_________________________
HT:M80s,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:2 Pair M3 1 Pair M22 Office:AudioBytes, Games Room: M60,VP150

Top
#380490 - 07/21/12 08:06 AM Re: Upgrade AudioByte Cables - Stereo or Mono Plugs? [Re: jmone]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17843
Loc: NoVA
The cables probably won't make a difference. I would call Axiom if they're still under warranty.

As for the cables, the crossover for the ABs is in the amp, so necessarily it needs to send two different signals to the sats.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#380500 - 07/21/12 07:41 PM Re: Upgrade AudioByte Cables - Stereo or Mono Plugs? [Re: jmone]
jmone Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/08/06
Posts: 164
Loc: Sydney Australia
Right - I'll do things in a few stages.
- Replace Driver (Axiom are sending a new driver)
- Solve issue on the Flying Remote
- Then look at what (if any) issues I may have
_________________________
HT:M80s,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:2 Pair M3 1 Pair M22 Office:AudioBytes, Games Room: M60,VP150

Top
#389428 - 02/08/13 12:17 PM Re: Upgrade AudioByte Cables - Stereo or Mono Plugs? [Re: jmone]
Huskerwingga Offline
newbie

Registered: 02/08/13
Posts: 1
Do you have an update on this issue?

I just got my new Audiobytes this week and have the same "hum" coming from my sub. I isolated the audiobyte system, plugged directly into 3 different wall outlets and a power scrubber from home theater setup. Still get a hum no matter where I plug the unit in. I've contacted Axiom and I'm waiting to hear back. I'm interested if your new driver got rid of your problem?

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.