Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
2 registered (oakvillematt, tomtuttle), 52 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13,375 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,180 Topics
410,076 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17900
pmbuko 16341
SirQuack 13357
CV 11458
MarkSJohnson 11157
Meanwhile On Facebook
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#390256 - 02/26/13 08:50 PM Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17900
Loc: NoVA
Does anyone know of a fast way to turn on or off Audyssey Dynamic Volume? I'm not that likely to use it, but my wife likes watching hockey games late at night, when everyone else is asleep. She has a hard time hearing the commentators, so she turns it up really loud. I think Dynamic Volume would help with this, but I don't want it on all the time, and there's no way in hell she's going to go through the 18 keypresses (or so) it takes to do it in the Onk manual. I guess I can set it up using the Harmony, but I was wondering if there was a better way.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#390259 - 02/26/13 09:39 PM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10474
Ken, I use Dynamic EQ at all times, but not Dynamic Volume. I haven't considered this at great length, but I'm not aware of any Onkyo provision for a one-click or other rapid way to select it. The menu entry appears to be the only route.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#390264 - 02/26/13 10:44 PM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16341
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
I learned something new about Ken's wife today.
_________________________
"Hello world." -- Every programmer, at one point or another.

Top
#390267 - 02/27/13 12:29 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10400
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
The Harmony is the easiest way, was for my Denon too. I have my One set up with a 'soft' button in the display.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#390279 - 02/27/13 08:19 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17900
Loc: NoVA
So basically something like Home>Down>Enter>Down>Down>Down>Down>Down>Down>Right>Enter>Down>Down>Return>Return?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#390285 - 02/27/13 10:09 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
tomtuttle Online   happy
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8392
Loc: Tacoma
Good grief.

I'm not sure how or if it would help you, but sometimes I have found that there are commands available in harmony or URC databases that are not native on the device's remote.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#390286 - 02/27/13 10:21 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17900
Loc: NoVA
I haven't made an actual count of the keystrokes needed. But it's not insignificant.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#390288 - 02/27/13 10:32 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3200
Loc: Toronto/New York/Dwight
Hi Ken,

There may be a less complicated alternative for you. I have my TV set up so the line analog audio-out jacks from the TV go to an inexpensive AR wireless headphone base unit. My son is a night owl and when he visits he used to watch TV with the volume too high (I'm a light sleeper.) So I rigged the wireless headphone setup. All he has to is put on the headphones and mute the TV speakers. This arrangement bypasses the AV receiver, amps, surround system, everything. He's not mechanically inclined so it's perfect for him and I get my sleep.

If your TV has a headphone output, you could use a wired headset as a cheapo solution instead of the above.

Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert

Top
#390327 - 02/27/13 06:49 PM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
Eno Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/15/03
Posts: 72
Loc: Bowie, MD USA
Set up one of the remote's 'Quick Select' buttons to turn on the Dynamic Volume. You can save the specific input source, volume, surround mode, and Audyssey Dynamic Volume on any of the quick select buttons.

Top
#390333 - 02/27/13 08:36 PM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17900
Loc: NoVA
There are quick select buttons?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.