Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
QS 8 Power bracket
#392553 05/02/13 01:03 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
V
VeXeD Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
V
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
It seems you would get a better connection not using the power bracket for the speaker wire but as a mount only. Anyone use them with the speaker wire clamped in and left them that way?

Re: QS 8 Power bracket
VeXeD #392560 05/02/13 03:14 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
Are your QS8s not getting a good signal?


I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.
Re: QS 8 Power bracket
VeXeD #392561 05/02/13 03:21 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,911
Likes: 1
C
CV Online Confused
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
Online Confused
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
C
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,911
Likes: 1
I've been using the power brackets on my two rear QS8s, and they've worked just fine.

Re: QS 8 Power bracket
VeXeD #392565 05/02/13 03:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
B
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
B
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
Its safe to assume they no longer have 5 way binding posts?




Re: QS 8 Power bracket
VeXeD #392571 05/02/13 04:49 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,422
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,422
The photos on the product page show the following:



I also confirmed this with my V3 QS8s.

So you have the bracket with the built in audio connections (which I am using with my two V3 QS8s) but you can also use the binding posts just like before (which I do for my two V2 QS8s).

Despite the difference connections, I have no issues with one over the other. The bracket is snug enough that it makes a solid connection.


Farewell - June 4, 2020
Re: QS 8 Power bracket
VeXeD #392578 05/02/13 02:28 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
I have 3 QS8's mounted with the speaker wire connected to the mounting bracket. It takes a bit of work and patience to get a good connection where all of the speaker wire is inside the clamp. That's one design I'd like to see improved somehow. With a single strand wire, it wouldn't be an issue. But, with the 12 gauge multi stand wire, it can be a bit of a challenge.

Slightly longer screws might help, because now when you unscrew them to make the gap to put the wire in, sometimes the screws come all the way out, then you have to take the time to re-insert the screw. (This can cause some expletives to escape your upper orifice, if your're not careful.)

Re: QS 8 Power bracket
CatBrat #392729 05/05/13 03:08 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 41
S
buff
Offline
buff
S
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 41
I talked to Ian about the power brackets when I visited last year. I have QS4s and on-wall M3s, not sure if QS8s are different. I found that i was trying to tighten the clamp on a very short (1/4 inch or less) section of multistrand wire (14 gauge, I think) and the wire slipped out as I tightened - several times and yes, expletives followed. I ended up drilling a deeper recess in the bracket to allow a good 1/2 inch of stripped wire under the clamp. Much easier!
I have no concerns about the quality of the connection.


Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,487
Posts434,452
Members15,439
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,707
CV 11,911
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
5 members (Mojo, michael_d, rrlev, CV, bman84), 307 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4