Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
#394170 06/15/13 07:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
A
Aegis Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
A
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Hello, I only recently learned about Axiom and i Heard they have really great speakers and power amplifiers, but a great set of speakers and a great power amp isn't worth a nickle without a great control amp/control center to plug your components into. I noticed Axiom doesn't sell actual control amplifiers (if they do, I must have missed where they are located). What control amplifiers do you (Axiom speaker/amplifier owners) use?

P.S. I might have put this post in the wrong secton, I probably should have put it in "Home Theater".

Last edited by Aegis; 06/15/13 07:37 PM.
Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
Aegis #394188 06/16/13 08:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,682
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,682
Likes: 1
Many of us just use a regular AVR from Denon, Onkyo, HK, Yamaha, etc., and don't use separate preamp/amp configurations. In many situations that is all you need to play as clear and as loud as you would want.

On the flip side, some use there AVR's as the pre and a separate amp from various manufacturers in the audio industry, or actual separates with preamp/amps from one manufacturer.


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
Aegis #394197 06/17/13 12:51 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
I know there are a couple of forum members that have Integra pre/pro's, beyond this, I think the majority with separate amps are simply utilizing there previous/current avr as the pre/pro for the separate amplifier..


Jason
M80 v2
VP160 v3
QS8 v2
PB13 Ultra
Denon 3808
Samsung 85" Q70
Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
jakewash #394203 06/17/13 01:31 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
Originally Posted By: jakewash
I know there are a couple of forum members that have Integra pre/pro's, beyond this, I think the majority with separate amps are simply utilizing there previous/current avr as the pre/pro for the separate amplifier..


+1 here, use the pre-amp out on my 3311 as a pre pro with good success. Though the audio guy up in my head wants a Emotiva XMC-1 if they ever get the darn thing built. Alternatively a Bryston SP3 but that 10g and i seem to be a be a bit short.


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
Aegis #394208 06/17/13 01:57 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,289
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,289
Just an Onkyo AVR here, although i have used a few other preamps in the past; a Parasound Halo unit, a vintage Phillips. a Sansui...



Last edited by chesseroo; 06/17/13 01:58 AM.

"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."
Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
Aegis #394211 06/17/13 02:37 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
I use a Krell processor, and Krell amps.. However, i am kind of thinking about a new processor though... Don't know what i'm going with next though....

Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
Aegis #394213 06/17/13 02:48 AM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
B
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
B
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
Yamaha reciever with preouts and an axiom ADA amplifier.




Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
Aegis #394226 06/17/13 10:44 AM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
J
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
J
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
i use the preouts on a Marantz sr5005;

the Marantz directly drives the rear surrounds;
the 2 QSC power amps are used for the front and side surrounds.
(i don't use a front center channel).

check the links in my signature...

Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
Aegis #394227 06/17/13 02:41 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,400
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,400
I use Anthem D2v + ADA1500


E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
AxiomAir/6xM2/4xM22/2xVP150/2xM3
Re: what control amplifier (Preamp) do Axiom users use
SirQuack #394228 06/17/13 04:28 PM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 204
J
local
Offline
local
J
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 204
+1
I also use Pre-outs from an AVR and a separate power amp.
/Jeff

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,365
Posts431,744
Members15,414
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,682
CV 11,798
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 145 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4