Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Wireless network bridge for HT application.
#395092 07/13/13 12:42 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
dakkon Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
I bought a Marantz AV8801 today, and this is my first "network ready" processor... Right now i have the 802.11ac Airport extreme, and am trying to find an 802.11ac wirless bridge that will work with the airport extreme... the current airport express is only 802.11n compatible...


So far i've looked at the Buffalo WLI-H4-D1300, but from what i've read you have to have the buffalo router to take advantage of the 802.11ac speeds.

i've also looked at the Linksys WUMC710. However, i dont think that this one will work on with the 802.11ac airport extreme either....



for an ISP i have time warner, an get 80megs/second to my laptop through the airport extreme, and would like to take advantage of as much bandwidth as possible to the receiver and blu ray player.

Any input would be greatly appreciated, Thanks.

Re: Wireless network bridge for HT application.
dakkon #395097 07/13/13 01:57 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
Why do you need the wireless bridge? Is the Marantz lacking wifi options?


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Wireless network bridge for HT application.
Ken.C #395099 07/13/13 02:01 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
dakkon Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
Originally Posted By: Ken.C
Why do you need the wireless bridge? Is the Marantz lacking wifi options?


correct, it doesn't have built in wifi. but it does have a 4 port switch built in......

Re: Wireless network bridge for HT application.
dakkon #395101 07/13/13 02:13 AM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 423
Likes: 17
T
devotee
Online Confused
devotee
T
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 423
Likes: 17
I use one of these. It works fine for movies and music streaming to my ht 2 floors away from my netgear 3600 router.

BELKIN F7D4555 Universal Wireless HDTV Adapter

it works as a network bridge and will allow any wired internet device wireless connectivity in 2.4 or 5ghz bands. It is also cheap compared to the buffalo.

Speed on wireless devices depends largely on signal, wireless throughput of router, network load etc. It's good to remember the specs with these devices are pie in the sky numbers and do not reflect real network performance.

Re: Wireless network bridge for HT application.
dakkon #395103 07/13/13 02:17 AM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 423
Likes: 17
T
devotee
Online Confused
devotee
T
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 423
Likes: 17

Re: Wireless network bridge for HT application.
dakkon #395104 07/13/13 02:41 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
dakkon Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
Any idea if Belkin supports Mac for configuration?


So far the below product meets pretty much all of my wickets..


802.11ac/works with an airport/can be configured with a Mac.

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=960

Re: Wireless network bridge for HT application.
dakkon #395105 07/13/13 02:44 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
I would expect it to be configurable via web interface; most seem to be, aside from Apple's stuff.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Wireless network bridge for HT application.
dakkon #395107 07/13/13 03:59 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
dakkon Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
the airport extreme was quite simplistic to set up.. only 1 step really.. I'm not sure if i like the new airport extreme software though. The previous version had many more administrative options than the current one does. I would say the new one is almost too much dumbed down for the price.. At the price point it's at, i would expect many more administrative options if one wanted them.. But, then again, maybe they are there and i am just ignorant to their existence...

Re: Wireless network bridge for HT application.
dakkon #395110 07/13/13 11:41 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
If it is there, I haven't found it. Not that I've looked hard. Me, I'd like to be able to ssh into my network devices.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Wireless network bridge for HT application.
dakkon #395111 07/13/13 12:24 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 423
Likes: 17
T
devotee
Online Confused
devotee
T
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 423
Likes: 17
I would assume mac is supported. It doesn't know anything about OS. It just loads up the gui in a webpage format when you enter the hardware url.

That small net builder site is the holy grail for all the benchmarking, testing and such for all home network stuff.

here is the fastest bridge tested to date:

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews/32153-ubiquiti-uap-ac-access-point-reviewed

I would look at any of the top 5 in the chart here as contenders. Based on price, and bleeding edge AC markup, I would buy a 802.11n for now and get something reliable.

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-charts/view

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,491
Posts434,516
Members15,439
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,707
CV 11,912
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
3 members (TrevorM, CV, norap), 440 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4