Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
5.1 from Satellite Receiver
#401784 03/09/14 02:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
Hi folks, need some help. I just connected my Sharp Aquos LED TV to my Onkyo TX-NR5010. I use a satellite receiver (Bell) for TV. Everything is setup I have A/V for the Bell but I cannot get any HD channels playing in 5.1 surround, not one. However, when I put on any channel other than HD programming I get my 5.1 audio. I have gone through the Onkyo menu options and looked at every menu and every option and nothing is standing out to me as a setting that I can change to correct the issue although there must be. Any ideas? Thanks.


Sharp Aquos LC60LE650U/Onkyo TX-NR5010/Axiom M100/Axiom VP150 v2/Axiom EP500 v2/Axiom QS8 v3
Re: 5.1 from Satellite Receiver
Diamondog #401785 03/09/14 05:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
Connected via hdmi


Sharp Aquos LC60LE650U/Onkyo TX-NR5010/Axiom M100/Axiom VP150 v2/Axiom EP500 v2/Axiom QS8 v3
Re: 5.1 from Satellite Receiver
Diamondog #401788 03/09/14 07:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 857
Likes: 1
C
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
C
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 857
Likes: 1
Originally Posted By: Diamondog
Hi folks, need some help. I just connected my Sharp Aquos LED TV to my Onkyo TX-NR5010. I use a satellite receiver (Bell) for TV. Everything is setup I have A/V for the Bell but I cannot get any HD channels playing in 5.1 surround, not one. However, when I put on any channel other than HD programming I get my 5.1 audio. I have gone through the Onkyo menu options and looked at every menu and every option and nothing is standing out to me as a setting that I can change to correct the issue although there must be. Any ideas? Thanks.


How have you connected the audio and video from your Bell STB to your AVR?

Last edited by casey01; 03/09/14 07:10 PM.
Re: 5.1 from Satellite Receiver
Diamondog #401789 03/09/14 07:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 857
Likes: 1
C
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
C
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 857
Likes: 1
Originally Posted By: Diamondog
Connected via hdmi


Sorry, missed your response as to connection method. I am not sure as to the audio set-up config on the Sat recvr., however, is it set to digital/bitstream(AVR in same manner)and in HD, what is it showing on the front panel display of your AVR?

Last edited by casey01; 03/09/14 07:25 PM.
Re: 5.1 from Satellite Receiver
Diamondog #401795 03/09/14 09:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
Everything connected via HDMI. When I put the Bell receiver on a non HD channel on the front of the AVR it shows the speakers including SBR/SBL surround back left/right. When I change it to an HD channel the SBL and SBR speakers disappear from the display on the AVR. It also switches from (non HD) ALL Ch Stereo to Dolby Digital when it switches to HD channels.


Sharp Aquos LC60LE650U/Onkyo TX-NR5010/Axiom M100/Axiom VP150 v2/Axiom EP500 v2/Axiom QS8 v3
Re: 5.1 from Satellite Receiver
Diamondog #401806 03/10/14 12:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
B
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
B
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,016
Likes: 1
I get the same thing will Bell satellite but only with some HD channels. Fox is the worst.




Re: 5.1 from Satellite Receiver
Diamondog #401817 03/10/14 03:02 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 857
Likes: 1
C
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
C
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 857
Likes: 1
Originally Posted By: Diamondog
Everything connected via HDMI. When I put the Bell receiver on a non HD channel on the front of the AVR it shows the speakers including SBR/SBL surround back left/right. When I change it to an HD channel the SBL and SBR speakers disappear from the display on the AVR. It also switches from (non HD) ALL Ch Stereo to Dolby Digital when it switches to HD channels.


Once a digital connection is made, barring the odd exception, ALL audio from the Sat recvr., regardless of the channel and type, "should" be automatically coming forth in Dolby Digital 5.1 with those speakers showing lit up on the panel which would be normal and not the back surrounds, that is assuming you have both LRS and back LRS speakers. The addition of DPL11X would add in the back surrounds(7.1) in all programming.

I do wonder at the change in audio especially when related to "all channel stereo" on non-hd channels since this surround option is usually only manually selected and not automatic, that is, unless, it is a quirk of your AVR, which even then, I have my doubts.

Last edited by casey01; 03/10/14 03:11 AM.
Re: 5.1 from Satellite Receiver
Diamondog #401819 03/10/14 03:21 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
Originally Posted By: Diamondog
Hi folks, need some help. I just connected my Sharp Aquos LED TV to my Onkyo TX-NR5010. I use a satellite receiver (Bell) for TV. Everything is setup I have A/V for the Bell but I cannot get any HD channels playing in 5.1 surround, not one. However, when I put on any channel other than HD programming I get my 5.1 audio. I have gone through the Onkyo menu options and looked at every menu and every option and nothing is standing out to me as a setting that I can change to correct the issue although there must be. Any ideas? Thanks.


Just to clarify, you have your Bell DVR hooked to the AVR and then from the AVR to the TV with hdmi. Have you looked in the setting for your Bell device to see if you can change the audio output settings. Also make sure you are indeed watching a program that is 5.1 .


DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: 5.1 from Satellite Receiver
Diamondog #401822 03/10/14 01:04 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 105
Yes, HDMI from Bell to AVR, then HDMI from AVR to TV. I have 2 front, 1 center, and 2 rear surrounds and sub.

I have once again gone through all settings in the AVR and just cannot see what could be stopping it. On non HD channels I have SBR/SBL icons but as soon as I change to any HD content the disappear and a little red icon appears that is so small I cannot make out but seems like its an icon that shows something not working. If I put it on TMN (movie network) none of the movies play in surround in HD, so for example the latest Spiderman will not play in 5.1


Sharp Aquos LC60LE650U/Onkyo TX-NR5010/Axiom M100/Axiom VP150 v2/Axiom EP500 v2/Axiom QS8 v3
Re: 5.1 from Satellite Receiver
Diamondog #401823 03/10/14 01:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
J
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
J
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
have you tried what Socketman has suggested about the Bell device: "see if you can change the audio output settings"? that could be your answer.

Last edited by J. B.; 03/10/14 01:14 PM.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,396
Posts432,292
Members15,418
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (raju), 260 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4