Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
3 registered (Ian, Ken.C, craigsub), 38 Guests and 8 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13365 Members
11 Forums
23109 Topics
408650 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17871
pmbuko 16328
SirQuack 13356
CV 11414
MarkSJohnson 11083
Meanwhile On Facebook

Any roadies / concert lovers out there think this is as cool as I do?

󾓶Ay, caramba! Our 'sneak peek' announcement in this morning's newsletter genera...

󾔸 Testing various operating systems with our new High Power Computer Speakers t...

Kick it up for Tone!

Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#403435 - 04/22/14 01:31 AM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: papester]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1300
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Old house but has new panels (square D ) for up and down. 2 bedrooms are the same breaker , I have had to run a extension cord down the hall since both rooms have plasma's and computers etc and often blew the breaker. The main living room hasn't blown a breaker ever but I know not to push it. We also have a crappy power company and pesky critters that get into transformers so the power goes out or browns out often , more so in the summer.
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#403479 - 04/22/14 07:50 PM Re: Power Requirements for EP500 V3 [Re: dakkon]
casey01 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 792
Loc: Toronto
Originally Posted By: dakkon
I have 2 EP600'S, 5 channels of krell class A power that doubles down to 4ohm @500w, and 2 channels that double down to 2ohm @1200w.

All of this is on a single 15A breaker.. The HT has never tripper the breaker. The real world power draw is much less than people assume..


I totally agree, the idea and worry about power overload in A/V systems is highly overblown. For three years now I have been running a 9.2 system currently consisting of a Yamaha Pre-Pro, 2 Outlaw multi-channel power amps at 125 watts/ch(all equally driven)and FOUR subs ALL running on a normal 15 amp circuit. A friend of mine who is an electrician measured the draw and even cranked up to the maximum listening levels, I would be drawing maybe 5 amps at most on the circuit not worth the extra 250 bucks for a dedicated circuit that I once considered installing that really, in the end, was not required.


Edited by casey01 (04/22/14 07:53 PM)

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.