You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Lets plan a theater space

Page 88 of 88 < 1 2 86 87 88
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#425833 - 06/18/17 05:11 AM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: AAAA]
AAAA Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1593
I found a few new ATMOS titles crackle when I send the audio via hdmi bitstream to my AVR. When LPCM is sent the crackle is gone. This means the AVR is not able to properly downmix or unpack some new ATMOS titles.

It sucks ATMOS is not fully backward compatable as promised, but time marches on. A new AVR is on the horizon I guess.

I have been doing some testing with a denon 3300 I recently installed in a setup. I might go back to mainstream AVRs, maybe a 6300/7400. Not sure I like the idea after having an Arcam. The new Arcam AVR supporting immersive audio is ridiculously overpriced.

In other news the completed towers are doing great. A wide dispersion setup like these are making me rethink my setup. Changes on the horizon.

Top
#430212 - 10/01/18 09:29 AM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: AAAA]
FrederickWalters Offline
newbie

Registered: 10/01/18
Posts: 2
Originally Posted By Serenity_then
I found a few new ATMOS titles crackle when I send the audio via hdmi bitstream to my AVR. When LPCM is sent the crackle is gone. This means the AVR is not able to properly downmix or unpack some new ATMOS titles.

It sucks ATMOS is not fully backward compatable as promised, but time marches on. A new AVR is on the horizon I guess.


I was also hurt when I found out that ATMOS is not fully backward compatable. But that's the way life is.

Top
#430220 - 10/02/18 12:57 AM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: AAAA]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5370
Loc: Marion, IA
Not sure what isn't backwards compatible. Every Atmos track contains a Dolby True-HD (also capable with Dolby Digital 5.1) core track that plays if you don't have Atmos capable gear. If it playing with crackles in it, then it is a setup or gear problem. Maybe there is a firmware upgrade that solves the issue.
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#430250 - 10/04/18 08:05 PM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: AAAA]
AAAA Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1593
Mr Nick!

Glad you are still around. This should probably be my last post in this thread.

I'm not really in forum activity anymore. You are right, a software update may solve the issue. Unfortunately, my AVR is pretty tired and Arcam are not supporting it anymore in terms of new firmware.

Luckily the OPPO 103 will transcode to PCM properly (so far) so it is a viable workaround.

In the last couple of years I have left the consumer realm and have gone professional. I now co-own a firm that does custom installs and design consulting. Its tough going but rewarding.

Lots of math, drafting and hard work in the shop. I just don't pursue audio the same way I used to. Cheers all! Thanks for reading the thread. Hope you enjoyed the ride. smile


Top
#430251 - 10/04/18 08:27 PM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: AAAA]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6282
Lovely interrogation room.
_________________________
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2 coming
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5,M3,M50 v4
had v2
Air N2 (someday)

Top
#430276 - 10/05/18 11:51 PM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: AAAA]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5370
Loc: Marion, IA
Yeah, I am still here almost every day. I just don't have much new to talk about.

I love the room.
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#430352 - 10/13/18 10:01 AM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: AAAA]
FrederickWalters Offline
newbie

Registered: 10/01/18
Posts: 2
Originally Posted By Serenity_then
Mr Nick!

Glad you are still around. This should probably be my last post in this thread.

I'm not really in forum activity anymore. You are right, a software update may solve the issue. Unfortunately, my AVR is pretty tired and Arcam are not supporting it anymore in terms of new firmware.

Luckily the OPPO 103 will transcode to PCM properly (so far) so it is a viable workaround.

In the last couple of years I have left the consumer realm and have gone professional. I now read phenq reviews at skinnvibes co-own a firm that does custom installs and design consulting. Its tough going but rewarding.

Lots of math, drafting and hard work in the shop. I just don't pursue audio the same way I used to. Cheers all! Thanks for reading the thread. Hope you enjoyed the ride. smile



This setup looks awesome.

Top
#430358 - 10/13/18 03:21 PM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: AAAA]
AAAA Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1593
Thanks!

Top
#430421 - 10/30/18 02:48 AM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: AAAA]
BrianDickman Offline
newbie

Registered: 10/30/18
Posts: 1
Originally Posted By Serenity_then
Download it here. Pretty sweet software once you get the hang of it.


This is really a nice software. Appropriately named too. Once you get past the learning curve, you can't live without it.

Top
#431547 - 03/07/19 05:29 PM Re: Lets plan a theater space [Re: BrianDickman]
WilliamNg Offline
newbie

Registered: 03/07/19
Posts: 1
Originally Posted By BrianDickman
Originally Posted By Serenity_then
Download it here. Pretty sweet software once you get the hang of it.


This is really a nice software. Appropriately named too. Once you get past the learning curve, you can't live without it.


Yes, quite useful software. Also, the learning curve is not that steep.

Top
Page 88 of 88 < 1 2 86 87 88

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,347 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,213 Topics
428,457 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13625
CV 11735
MarkSJohnson 11445
4 registered (Mojo, BBIBH, SRoode, SirQuack)
189 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup