Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp
#413869 08/02/15 06:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 655
Likes: 3
brendo Offline OP
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 655
Likes: 3
Hi all,
Now am the proud owner of pro gear My AVR a TASCAM PA-R200 specs. say the output on the rca out give 2v or 2.2kohm.
I have a Crest Audio VS900 for my M80 fronts.
I have a scosche S.P.L.1000 and set the level to 70DBs with the AVR level at 0 but the Crests gains are still 2 3rds to 3/4 of the way up for the 70DBs. does this seem right? or does the AVR not have enough power?

Re: Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp
brendo #413871 08/02/15 07:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,281
I will defer to an article I have found to be very informative . Not to wild about the author but the information is solid. Voltage gain and input sensitivity is a balancing act based on the output voltage of your pre-outs and the sensitivity and voltage gain of your amplifier. You don't want to run the pre-out wide open since that will result in clipping the signal. Your amp has more than adequate voltage gain and 1volt will drive it to max power so 3/4 to 2/3 sounds reasonable. There are tutorials on youtube that you can look in to. consumer products tend not to have these questions since its beyond an average persons understanding so they stay within certain specs.

Richard



DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry
Re: Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp
brendo #413872 08/02/15 07:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 655
Likes: 3
brendo Offline OP
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 655
Likes: 3
Thank you socketman, have found a lot of articles, but hard to understand some how mainly spec. related. Was just worried about running them to hot, plus this forum seems more user related.
Since we're kind of fanboys of the same speakers. Sharing info of our different set ups, I can get stuck in here for hours.

Re: Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp
brendo #413873 08/02/15 07:38 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 655
Likes: 3
brendo Offline OP
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 655
Likes: 3
So far that was also the best source for info had read yet,
To funny a guy can also get stuck in darn Radio Shack{Circuit City} now here on the west coast for life.
Always try to avoid clipping, but I can kind of understand as to letting the amps. use their full potential. The go to clipping and minus just enough to below clipping of the many articles.

Re: Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp
brendo #413883 08/02/15 10:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,593
Likes: 1
A
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
A
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,593
Likes: 1
The input sensitivity of the crest is listed as 1V. This means 1V input will drive the amplifiers output to max. The Tascam is capable of 2V. You are good to go.

Problems exist when the output prepro cannot deliver the rated input sensitivity of the power amplifier. Ie. 2V output when input sensitivity is 4V. This means the prepro cannot drive the amplifier to max output.

The article Socket linked gave me the quick and dirty too. smile Helpful, and a good wood finisher.


Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,497
Posts434,602
Members15,443
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,707
CV 11,919
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
3 members (EFalardeau, CV, ameliam), 536 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4