You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#413869 - 08/02/15 02:04 PM Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp
brendo Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 362
Loc: West coast Canada
Hi all,
Now am the proud owner of pro gear My AVR a TASCAM PA-R200 specs. say the output on the rca out give 2v or 2.2kohm.
I have a Crest Audio VS900 for my M80 fronts.
I have a scosche S.P.L.1000 and set the level to 70DBs with the AVR level at 0 but the Crests gains are still 2 3rds to 3/4 of the way up for the 70DBs. does this seem right? or does the AVR not have enough power?

Top
#413871 - 08/02/15 03:09 PM Re: Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp [Re: brendo]
Gr8_White_North Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 2224
Loc: Whitehorse YT
I will defer to an article I have found to be very informative . Not to wild about the author but the information is solid. Voltage gain and input sensitivity is a balancing act based on the output voltage of your pre-outs and the sensitivity and voltage gain of your amplifier. You don't want to run the pre-out wide open since that will result in clipping the signal. Your amp has more than adequate voltage gain and 1volt will drive it to max power so 3/4 to 2/3 sounds reasonable. There are tutorials on youtube that you can look in to. consumer products tend not to have these questions since its beyond an average persons understanding so they stay within certain specs.

Richard

_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
What others think of me is none of my business.
M80 V3 MY GLOSS Cherry

Top
#413872 - 08/02/15 03:26 PM Re: Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp [Re: brendo]
brendo Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 362
Loc: West coast Canada
Thank you socketman, have found a lot of articles, but hard to understand some how mainly spec. related. Was just worried about running them to hot, plus this forum seems more user related.
Since we're kind of fanboys of the same speakers. Sharing info of our different set ups, I can get stuck in here for hours.

Top
#413873 - 08/02/15 03:38 PM Re: Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp [Re: brendo]
brendo Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 362
Loc: West coast Canada
So far that was also the best source for info had read yet,
To funny a guy can also get stuck in darn Radio Shack{Circuit City} now here on the west coast for life.
Always try to avoid clipping, but I can kind of understand as to letting the amps. use their full potential. The go to clipping and minus just enough to below clipping of the many articles.

Top
#413883 - 08/02/15 06:18 PM Re: Gain levels on pro AVR and Pro amp [Re: brendo]
Serenity_then Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1565
Loc: PEI, Canada
The input sensitivity of the crest is listed as 1V. This means 1V input will drive the amplifiers output to max. The Tascam is capable of 2V. You are good to go.

Problems exist when the output prepro cannot deliver the rated input sensitivity of the power amplifier. Ie. 2V output when input sensitivity is 4V. This means the prepro cannot drive the amplifier to max output.

The article Socket linked gave me the quick and dirty too. smile Helpful, and a good wood finisher.
_________________________
Trevor. Cold turkey. Thanks guys. Cheers.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,233 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,007 Topics
424,187 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
191 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup