You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » What are your thoughts on interconnects

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#420552 - 10/01/16 02:40 PM Re: What are your thoughts on interconnects [Re: brendo]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1767
Funny, that when I demo my system for someone, it never sounds as good or dynamic as I remember.

Again, mind games inside my head I guess...

Tom

Top
#420558 - 10/01/16 06:55 PM Re: What are your thoughts on interconnects [Re: exlabdriver]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6731
Could be because your are not at your MLP or you crank it up so much you compress your M22s.
_________________________
M2 coming
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5x2,M3,M50 v4
had v2
N2,N3 maybe

Top
#420559 - 10/01/16 07:04 PM Re: What are your thoughts on interconnects [Re: brendo]
brendo Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 512
Loc: West coast Canada
Thanx Tam, agree the hooch can sometimes make it a lot better.
When someone is for a demo we tend to notice more than cranking a favorite song. It's the frame of mind at the time when you want it to sound best plus a bit of that damn Murphy's law comes into play at those times.

Top
#420566 - 10/02/16 07:02 AM Re: What are your thoughts on interconnects [Re: brendo]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6233
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
One thing I realized is that all the room tweaking I did made the sound good in one specific listening position, but when I listen anywhere else in the room (particularly where the other furniture is placed) it isn't anywhere near as good. Probably fair to say it sounds embarrassingly bad - dull, thin, and lifeless.

That might be a factor in what you hear when demoing -- unless you are still hogging the primo listening position for yourself during the demo, of course.

EDIT - just clued in that Mojo's "MLP" probably means Main Listening Position or something similar.


Edited by bridgman (10/02/16 07:08 AM)
_________________________
M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, EP500, PC-Plus 20-39
M5HP, M40ti, Sierra-1
LFR1100 actives

Top
#420567 - 10/02/16 08:22 AM Re: What are your thoughts on interconnects [Re: bridgman]
Mojo Online   content
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 6731
Originally Posted By bridgman
EDIT - just clued in that Mojo's "MLP" probably means Main Listening Position or something similar.


Aye, John.
_________________________
M2 coming
A-LFR/1000-8/500v4x2
1000-2,3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5x2,M3,M50 v4
had v2
N2,N3 maybe

Top
#420584 - 10/02/16 08:07 PM Re: What are your thoughts on interconnects [Re: brendo]
2x6spds Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 3217
Loc: CA, USA
Don't do much hooch, I do quite a bit of listening. My mood is pretty uniformly good. Just saying ... cabling is a variable.
_________________________
Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.

Top
#421633 - 12/22/16 12:21 AM Re: What are your thoughts on interconnects [Re: brendo]
brendo Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 512
Loc: West coast Canada
Well in experimentation, I've given up on monster cables. Now switched all my cables to Prime Cables. Our distributor for Monoprice here in the north. They produce any kind of cable and carry the Monoprice's.

They have some pretty burly Prime Cable 2.0 HDMI, 5 cables came to less than 1 of my monsters, including a 20 footer.

Also got some Monoprice RCA and in a test rushed them in sloppy without complete isolation, not even a hint of EMI/RFI, I was getting with the Monsters. Soon to try Prime Digital cables{similar to the Blue Jeans line}.

There's also a new Monster Black Platinum line though they still won't state the AWG for any of the cables?

Top
#421680 - 12/24/16 02:49 PM Re: What are your thoughts on interconnects [Re: brendo]
brendo Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/14/14
Posts: 512
Loc: West coast Canada
So now have added the Prime Cable Coax. RCA for My ADA1250. Sure enough no noise at all that I was getting from the Monster Cables{silver ultra line}. Guess they have lousy shielding!!!

Now have to reorganize the gremlin mess, went and added them in a rush to test for ground noise.
Have to get rid of all my monsters now. They do have a pretty decent low end output, compared to the monoprice standard RCAs. Though the Prime cables seem totally on par to the Monster output in low end, with better shielding to boot. At only a 10th of the cost.

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,370 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,240 Topics
429,355 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13634
CV 11738
MarkSJohnson 11445
2 registered (Mojo, jakewash)
501 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup