You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Help with theater room lighting

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#421193 - 11/25/16 03:58 PM Help with theater room lighting
aarons Offline
old hand

Registered: 10/17/16
Posts: 87
I'm struggling to find a solution in my lighting endeavors. Perhaps someone can help recommend a system that will work for me?

I want to run 4 different channels. Each one needs its own dimming capabilities. I'd like to control them all with one remote but don't want to use an app. I'd prefer to have a specific remote for the lighting that everyone in my household will be able to use easily.

So far all I am finding are individual dimmers with remotes which wont work as they are all on the same IR signal and one remote will operate all 4 channels at the same time.

Any recommendations?
_________________________
It all matters.....just not very much.

Top
#421196 - 11/25/16 04:54 PM Re: Help with theater room lighting [Re: aarons]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6052
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
I don't know much about them, but there seem to be a number of different bulb/remote systems out there where control is done by signalling over the power line and every bulb is individually addressable. Give me a minute and I'll try to find an example.

EDIT - this isn't the brand I was thinking of but it's an example:

http://www.smarthome.com/insteon-a19-8w-...hite-2534k.html

http://www.smarthome.com/insteon-2342-222-mini-remote-8-scene.html


Edited by bridgman (11/25/16 04:55 PM)
_________________________
M60ti/VP180/QS8, SVS PC-Plus 20-39, EP500
M5HP, Sierra-1, M40ti
M2ti, M3v4, VP100

Top
#421214 - 11/26/16 03:07 PM Re: Help with theater room lighting [Re: aarons]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
If you have a programmable remote, like the URC MX series, you could learn the lighting remote IR. Depending on the remote you have, configuration can be from very simple to complex. I use the MX1200 and there's no way I'd ever use it to its max capabilities.

If you wish to use LED lighting, be aware that your options for dimming control is more limited. It gets very limited with switches that can be controlled with a remote. I just recently found a switch that is compatible with LED. They are a new line just released. I'm happy to report they work very well. It's the Caseta line from Lutron. http://www.lutron.com/en-US/Products/Pages/SingleRoomControls/CasetaWireless/Overview.aspx

Not real sure what configurations the Caseta line has, as I only need one light switch for my room.
_________________________


Top
#421225 - 11/27/16 02:48 PM Re: Help with theater room lighting [Re: aarons]
Serenity_then Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/28/14
Posts: 1565
Loc: PEI, Canada
As a note, one incandescent bulb in the circuit of an LED switch leg will make the bulbs in that zone dim properly (all the way off) on dimmers that arent specifically for LED lamps.
_________________________
Trevor. Cold turkey. Thanks guys. Cheers.

Top
#421237 - 11/28/16 07:27 AM Re: Help with theater room lighting [Re: aarons]
cb919 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/17/09
Posts: 1165
Loc: Ottawa, Canada
Interesting note on the incandescent in line with LED Serenity - I did not know that.

Arons - maybe a somewhat less conventional idea than you are looking for, but could you use something like the Philips Hue lights? I know you don't want to use an app, however if you combine Hue or similar with a preset on a Harmony you might be able to achieve what you want.
As an example, I also wanted to avoid apps for the family but also wanted integrated lighting options - I have 2 wall sconces in my HT which I have put the Hues into and they work well. I have the lights programmed into my Harmony so when I start activities they go to a certain colour and brightness. Optionally, I can then easily override the predefined setting with a quick Siri voice command. Lastly I have it programmed so that when I end all activities (power off) the lights come back to full white and brightness so I can clean up the spilled popcorn :-)

To get even simpler use you could even use something like the new logitech pop buttons:
http://www.logitech.com/en-us/product/pop-home-switch
I haven't tried these but it looks like they make predefined sequences available to everyone at the push of a button.

Good luck!
_________________________
Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1

Top
#421240 - 11/28/16 10:43 AM Re: Help with theater room lighting [Re: aarons]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6052
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
re: avoiding use of apps, I am seeing more cases where tablets are being used as dedicated remote controls, typically wall- or table-mounted.

Tablets are getting cheap these days - does aversion to using apps still apply if using a dedicated tablet ?
_________________________
M60ti/VP180/QS8, SVS PC-Plus 20-39, EP500
M5HP, Sierra-1, M40ti
M2ti, M3v4, VP100

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,224 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,991 Topics
424,046 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13567
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
59 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup