You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#421312 - 12/02/16 07:53 PM Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers
fish Offline
newbie

Registered: 12/02/16
Posts: 2
Looking for feedback. i am thinking of using a pair of QS4 with ceiling brackets for my Atmos speakers. good or bad idea?

Top
#421316 - 12/03/16 01:27 AM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5324
Loc: Marion, IA
Don't do it.

That is the short answer. No manufacturer recommends anything but monopole (regular, single direction) speakers for overhead Atmos speakers.

You really want monopole speakers all around until you get into really large spaces, and then something like the Axiom QS surrounds will work, but still, that is for surround, not overheads....
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#421319 - 12/03/16 07:00 AM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
fish Offline
newbie

Registered: 12/02/16
Posts: 2
thanks for the quick reply. so i guess i should trade my qs4s for a pair of m3 in ceiling

Top
#421327 - 12/04/16 12:15 AM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5324
Loc: Marion, IA
I traded in four QS8s for on-wall M3s for surround duty, and added 4 more on-wall M3s to mount on my ceiling for Atmos. Just as designed by Dolby....

(I couldn't go with in-ceiling because of my soundproofing in my room.)
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#421499 - 12/15/16 07:30 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
SteveInCC Offline
regular

Registered: 09/30/16
Posts: 9
Loc: Nevada
I'm running Atmos and Auro-3D (and DTS:X once I get the update working). My current setup is:
Marantz SR7010
DIY HTPC
Vizio 65" w/3D
L-R M60s
C - RP-450C (fits console)
S - QS8s (2 pair)
H - M2s (2 pair)
SW - EP350 (waiting on shipment, replacing SVS PC13 Ultra)

M2s are near ceiling on front and rear walls per Auro-3D recommendation, to work best with all three formats.
2nd pair of QS8s replaced M3s for rear surround duty. The QS8s sound great in my 11.x (7.x.4) setup. The FMS QS stands put them at the perfect height.
The SVS was major overkill for my mobile home. wink
My room is 24x15x8. I imagine QS4s would be great for a smaller room.
_________________________
Marantz SR7010
DIY HTPC
Onkyo M-282 2ch amp
M60v3 x2
RP-450C
QS8v4 x4
M2v4 x4
EP350v4
Vizio 65" 3D

Top
#421504 - 12/15/16 09:31 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5324
Loc: Marion, IA
Glad to hear that you are enjoying your setup.

Yeah, DTS:X can fit within the Atmos specs OR the Auro specs, but not both as Auro and Atmos layouts really aren't directly compatible.

A lot of people seem to experiment around and find a good compromise like you did though.

You should share some pictures of your setup. It would be cool to see.
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#421552 - 12/17/16 04:16 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
Thyname11 Offline
newbie

Registered: 08/17/14
Posts: 4
Does Axiom have speakers that can be put on top of M60s for quasi-Atmos 5.1.2 setup?

Top
#421571 - 12/18/16 12:04 AM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: Thyname11]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1781
Loc: Canada
Originally Posted By Thyname11
Does Axiom have speakers that can be put on top of M60s for quasi-Atmos 5.1.2 setup?


Better. They have the in-ceiling speakers you really want(you just don't know it yet).
_________________________
Amazing weather here so far this spring.

Top
#421572 - 12/18/16 09:15 AM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: brwsaw]
Thyname11 Offline
newbie

Registered: 08/17/14
Posts: 4
Originally Posted By brwsaw
Originally Posted By Thyname11
Does Axiom have speakers that can be put on top of M60s for quasi-Atmos 5.1.2 setup?


Better. They have the in-ceiling speakers you really want(you just don't know it yet).


Cannot afford them. Not the speakers themselves but hiring somebody to put in the ceilings as I cannot do it myself

Top
#421591 - 12/18/16 04:10 PM Re: Using QS 4 for Atmos speakers [Re: fish]
brwsaw Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 1781
Loc: Canada
Its a shame really.
It would be worth the wait.
_________________________
Amazing weather here so far this spring.

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,231 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,006 Topics
424,184 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (exlabdriver)
191 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup