Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
New Firmware anytime soon?
#429123 03/18/18 10:32 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 353
jmone Offline OP
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 353
It's been almost a year since the last update. What's the ETA of the new software release and what do you plan to include? Spotify Connect, Chromecast, etc...


HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs
Re: New Firmware anytime soon?
jmone #429546 06/15/18 07:58 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 353
jmone Offline OP
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 353
Hi Ian,
Can you comment on what the future holds (or does not hold) for updates to the AA?
Thanks
Nathan


HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs
Re: New Firmware anytime soon?
jmone #429574 06/24/18 08:52 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,375
Likes: 2
Ian Offline
President
connoisseur
Offline
President
connoisseur
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,375
Likes: 2
Hi Nathan,

We have been working on a lot of new things for the AA, including new hardware that allows switching between WiFi, Analog, Optical, and BT from the UI with volume control in the UI for all of them. The little volume knob will disappear. The other big feature that has been added is Spotify Connect. We have also written a new Updater. As soon as the Updater software is finished we can start releasing new versions of the AA software with the new features. Obviously the v1 version cannot have the volume control of Analog and Optical from the UI but it can have all the other new features.


Ian Colquhoun
President & Chief Engineer
Re: New Firmware anytime soon?
jmone #429575 06/24/18 09:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 353
jmone Offline OP
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 353
Thanks Ian, looking forward to trying it out. Is it possible to change the HW from V1 to V2 (eg through the tinkerers door?)


HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs
Re: New Firmware anytime soon?
jmone #429601 07/01/18 09:07 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,375
Likes: 2
Ian Offline
President
connoisseur
Offline
President
connoisseur
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,375
Likes: 2
I don't see any way to make this mod as we have moved a lot of stuff to the back like the Ethernet plug, the USB plugs, and the analog and optical inputs.


Ian Colquhoun
President & Chief Engineer
Re: New Firmware anytime soon?
jmone #429602 07/01/18 10:24 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 353
jmone Offline OP
devotee
OP Offline
devotee
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 353
Good Idea on moving the ports.


HT:M80,VP150,QS8,EP500 Outside:4xM3 Office:AudioBytes, Rumpus: M60,VP150,M22 Portable:2 x Airs
Re: New Firmware anytime soon?
jmone #429621 07/07/18 07:27 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,342
Likes: 3
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,342
Likes: 3
I've been following this thread on the Air for awhile wondering the same thing; when is an update coming.

I've had continued 'bugs' with the interface that continue to stymie me. The latest, how the Air can manage to get an IP address from my Wifi when it doens't have the password to get connected.
As such, when it turns on, it somehow connects to the wifi (which i don't want it to do) and i have no way of getting it to stop connecting to the wifi so i can use it with its own hotspot.
I tried to reset, even went as far as using the usb stick to do a hard reset.
Sometimes when i turn on the Air, it goes into hotspot mode. Other times it stays in wifi connected mode, again not sure how it does this when i've never entered in any passwords in the Axiom app interface to allow it on our wifi.

Frustrating.

My only recourse is to go into my router and blacklist the Air on my home router, but who is to say if it isn't going to have the same behaviour while outside and picking up on any of my neighbors locked down wifi signals.

I might add, there should be a boatload more FAQ in the manual. There are instructions how to get it onto a wifi system, but no instructions how to get it off.
So, if a person uses it on their wifi at home, but for any reason wants to use the hotspot mode, how in the hell do you get it back to hotspot mode?

When we get it working, it is fairly stellar (though it would be nice to connect to a Sonos home setup without having to plug in a Sonos unit directly via the analog cable.

On that note, having the plugins near the bottom of the unit is sketchy when someone goes to lift or move the Air (the analog cable is slow close to the ground that it can get bent and damage the plugin real easy).

I know the hoopla about Bluetooth and all, but really, in some instances this BT connection would be so much easier to deal with the Air just for making interface changes and such.

Should i guess that with the Raspberry Pi v1 that we would eventually need a usb plugin to get BT since there is no BT onboard the v1 (that i recall)?

Last edited by chesseroo; 07/07/18 07:31 PM.

"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."
Re: New Firmware anytime soon?
jmone #429623 07/07/18 08:28 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
M
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
M
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 1,105
I would be asking the question of it is possible to transplant the Raspberry Pi2 with a newer Pi3b+ that does have builtin Wifi and Bluetooth and faster processor.

The idea of having a second wifi in the unit would allow you to get the best of both worlds where the unit itself has the connection to your local network to get music off a network source, but still, have a free wifi that can also go into hotspot.

I gather that the Air is built around the application base of Volumio if I remember correctly as that was in a discussion a long while back about the programmer that you had brought onboard to get the app written.


Anthem: AVM60
Axiom: ADA1000, LFR1100, VP180, QS8, EP500, M3, M3comp
AudioSource: Amp One/A
Re: New Firmware anytime soon?
chesseroo #429627 07/10/18 11:31 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,375
Likes: 2
Ian Offline
President
connoisseur
Offline
President
connoisseur
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,375
Likes: 2
If you hit the gear in the upper right then Network at the bottom of the page is a button to Force Hotspot. This will take your AxiomAir off your network connection.


Ian Colquhoun
President & Chief Engineer
Re: New Firmware anytime soon?
Ian #429656 07/16/18 09:39 PM
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
T
frequent flier
Offline
frequent flier
T
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 15
Hi Ian,

Out of curiosity, is there any date planned ? Or can we beta test?

My AA is sleeping since I cannot make them work with my current WIFI setup. I always have to use them in Analog mode and in the end ends up not being used frown

I'd really love to put it to good use!

Originally Posted By Ian
Hi Nathan,

We have been working on a lot of new things for the AA, including new hardware that allows switching between WiFi, Analog, Optical, and BT from the UI with volume control in the UI for all of them. The little volume knob will disappear. The other big feature that has been added is Spotify Connect. We have also written a new Updater. As soon as the Updater software is finished we can start releasing new versions of the AA software with the new features. Obviously the v1 version cannot have the volume control of Analog and Optical from the UI but it can have all the other new features.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Moderated by  Andrew, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,396
Posts432,288
Members15,418
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 190 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4