You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » New remote

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#435292 - 01/16/20 03:56 PM New remote
Wid Online   confused
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6827
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

What's everyone using for their remotes now days. Have an old arse Harmony that I'd like to retire. Any suggestions ? I only have like 4 devices as of now. Sony TV, LG blu ray, Denon 3500 and a Roku.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#435298 - 01/16/20 08:02 PM Re: New remote [Re: Wid]
Rjlitho Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/01/17
Posts: 96
Loc: Mississauga, ON
Did,
I am using The Harmony hub( NO REMOTE) just the hub running thought a mac mini work awesome. I have been using assorted Harmony remotes for 15 years. I have no need for the remotes unless I have some issue that is rare. Everything runs Thought the harmony.
RJ
_________________________
M100 V4, VP180 V4,QS10s x4 V4 EP500 V4 X 2,ADA 1500-3, N3

Top
#435299 - 01/16/20 08:46 PM Re: New remote [Re: Wid]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5395
Loc: Marion, IA
I'm still using the original (and still awesome) Harmony One and it works with everything I throw at it, including new gear.
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#435300 - 01/16/20 09:08 PM Re: New remote [Re: Wid]
Wid Online   confused
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6827
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

I'm gonna try and get the old Harmony working first. I have a Chromebook so I need my son to bring his computer over
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#435303 - 01/17/20 09:01 AM Re: New remote [Re: Wid]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13660
Loc: Iowa
Some day I need to look into one of these. Still have a remote for my projector, receiver, roku, sony 4k dvd, ps4, ceiling lighting, and a few I'm forgetting, lol
_________________________
M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#435305 - 01/17/20 12:18 PM Re: New remote [Re: Wid]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4242
Loc: Up yonder
If you like Apple, get a Harmony. If you like Windows, get a URC. Harmony, much like Apple, pisses me off. But so do automatic faucets and paper towel dispensers, so maybe I'm just technically challenged.

Top
#435314 - 01/17/20 06:10 PM Re: New remote [Re: michael_d]
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5285
Loc: western canada
Originally Posted By michael_d
If you like Apple, get a Harmony. If you like Windows, get a URC. Harmony, much like Apple, pisses me off. But so do automatic faucets and paper towel dispensers, so maybe I'm just technically challenged.


Now that's funny.

_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#435316 - 01/17/20 06:23 PM Re: New remote [Re: michael_d]
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5285
Loc: western canada
Originally Posted By michael_d
If you like Apple, get a Harmony. If you like Windows, get a URC.

I vaguely recall thinking about this some time ago and refresh my memory, weren't URC more time intensive, needed programming, not a simple database addition for controllable peripheral gear, etc.?


Quote:
Harmony, much like Apple, pisses me off

Don't even get me started on Apple.
Random 911 dialing because of an auto feature setup from pressing volume and power button at the same time in a certain sequence must cause a lot of bogus 911 calls.
Why the hell would Apple put the power button immediately opposite a volume button such that when a hand holds the unit, pressing both when trying to press one is intuitively going to happen? Let alone design a feature that when this occurs a 911 call gets dialed.
I mean WTF APPLE??!!

I actually like the Harmony setup and all, but the quality of the remotes has gone downhill. I have an older unit that fits nice in the palm, has the pause, record, etc. buttons easy near the thumb, has a rechargeable battery which i've only changed out twice in over 10 years, whose buttons have not worn out (no surface printed letters/numbers and sturdy mechanical switches).
The most recent Harmony One had play/record buttons up high so i needed two hands, one on the remote bottom for balance and pressure and the second hand to actually press the buttons up high. It was not contoured for a hand to hold it firmly and my hand kept slipping upward from the bottom. No more rechargeable batteries. Now you just go through a new set every 3 months and recycle NiCads or Li metal batts like they were kids candy after Halloween. Soft buttons fail within a year. No amount of cleaning worked to fix it. There's actually companies online that sell kits to help fix this problem.
Eeeech.
WTF Logitech!!??


Edited by chesseroo (01/17/20 06:23 PM)
_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#435317 - 01/17/20 06:26 PM Re: New remote [Re: Wid]
Mojo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 7047
I'm pretty sure Apple and Logitech designed automatic faucets and paper towel dispensers.
_________________________
A-LFR/1000-8 & 2/500v4x2
1000-3,1500-3
100,160,QS10x2,800,M5x2,M2/3/50v4
had v2;v4 FOC rock
Nx maybe

Top
#435325 - 01/18/20 10:41 AM Re: New remote [Re: chesseroo]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4242
Loc: Up yonder
Originally Posted By chesseroo
I vaguely recall thinking about this some time ago and refresh my memory, weren't URC more time-intensive, needed programming, not a simple database addition for controllable peripheral gear, etc.?


Yes. The programable URC remotes require installer or user programming, and the professional line requires software that you can only acquire (per URC policy), from a registered dealer, or possibly a registered "installer". As with anything, there are workarounds for obtaining the software, but you won't get it from Best Buy. The rationale is that URC wants installers to program the remote, verse DIY'ers, as the assumption is that only professionals can figure out how to program the remote, correctly..... But if I can figure it out, anyone reading this can too. I just have to refresh my memory every time I change a component and have to update the programming.

Granted, the CCP programming software does have a steep learning curve, and if you are not willing to spend several hours (and days), learning how to run it, Harmony would be the better option.

But if you are the type who may get pissed off when your stuck hunched over a sink, trying to get the auto soap dispenser and auto water dispenser to realize you want to wash your hands, in the order YOU choose, with the amount of soap and water YOU want to use...........consider URC.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,390 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,296 Topics
430,390 Posts

Most users ever online:
2,082 @ 01/22/20 10:43 AM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13660
CV 11741
MarkSJohnson 11445
2 registered (craigsub, Wid)
628 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup