Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
New remote
#435292 01/16/20 08:56 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,832
W
Wid Offline OP
axiomite
OP Offline
axiomite
W
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,832

What's everyone using for their remotes now days. Have an old arse Harmony that I'd like to retire. Any suggestions ? I only have like 4 devices as of now. Sony TV, LG blu ray, Denon 3500 and a Roku.


Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud

Re: New remote
Wid #435298 01/17/20 01:02 AM
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 106
R
veteran
Offline
veteran
R
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 106
Did,
I am using The Harmony hub( NO REMOTE) just the hub running thought a mac mini work awesome. I have been using assorted Harmony remotes for 15 years. I have no need for the remotes unless I have some issue that is rare. Everything runs Thought the harmony.
RJ


M100 V4, VP180 V4,QS10s x4 V4 EP500 V4 X 2,ADA 1500-3, ADA1250 - 7 N3
Re: New remote
Wid #435299 01/17/20 01:46 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,422
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,422
I'm still using the original (and still awesome) Harmony One and it works with everything I throw at it, including new gear.


Farewell - June 4, 2020
Re: New remote
Wid #435300 01/17/20 02:08 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,832
W
Wid Offline OP
axiomite
OP Offline
axiomite
W
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 6,832

I'm gonna try and get the old Harmony working first. I have a Chromebook so I need my son to bring his computer over


Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud

Re: New remote
Wid #435303 01/17/20 02:01 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,707
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,707
Likes: 1
Some day I need to look into one of these. Still have a remote for my projector, receiver, roku, sony 4k dvd, ps4, ceiling lighting, and a few I'm forgetting, lol


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: New remote
Wid #435305 01/17/20 05:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 5
M
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
M
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 5
If you like Apple, get a Harmony. If you like Windows, get a URC. Harmony, much like Apple, pisses me off. But so do automatic faucets and paper towel dispensers, so maybe I'm just technically challenged.

Re: New remote
michael_d #435314 01/17/20 11:10 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,369
Likes: 4
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,369
Likes: 4
Originally Posted By michael_d
If you like Apple, get a Harmony. If you like Windows, get a URC. Harmony, much like Apple, pisses me off. But so do automatic faucets and paper towel dispensers, so maybe I'm just technically challenged.


Now that's funny.



"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."
Re: New remote
michael_d #435316 01/17/20 11:23 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,369
Likes: 4
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,369
Likes: 4
Originally Posted By michael_d
If you like Apple, get a Harmony. If you like Windows, get a URC.

I vaguely recall thinking about this some time ago and refresh my memory, weren't URC more time intensive, needed programming, not a simple database addition for controllable peripheral gear, etc.?


Quote:
Harmony, much like Apple, pisses me off

Don't even get me started on Apple.
Random 911 dialing because of an auto feature setup from pressing volume and power button at the same time in a certain sequence must cause a lot of bogus 911 calls.
Why the hell would Apple put the power button immediately opposite a volume button such that when a hand holds the unit, pressing both when trying to press one is intuitively going to happen? Let alone design a feature that when this occurs a 911 call gets dialed.
I mean WTF APPLE??!!

I actually like the Harmony setup and all, but the quality of the remotes has gone downhill. I have an older unit that fits nice in the palm, has the pause, record, etc. buttons easy near the thumb, has a rechargeable battery which i've only changed out twice in over 10 years, whose buttons have not worn out (no surface printed letters/numbers and sturdy mechanical switches).
The most recent Harmony One had play/record buttons up high so i needed two hands, one on the remote bottom for balance and pressure and the second hand to actually press the buttons up high. It was not contoured for a hand to hold it firmly and my hand kept slipping upward from the bottom. No more rechargeable batteries. Now you just go through a new set every 3 months and recycle NiCads or Li metal batts like they were kids candy after Halloween. Soft buttons fail within a year. No amount of cleaning worked to fix it. There's actually companies online that sell kits to help fix this problem.
Eeeech.
WTF Logitech!!??

Last edited by chesseroo; 01/17/20 11:23 PM.

"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."
Re: New remote
Wid #435317 01/17/20 11:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 8,434
Likes: 21
M
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
M
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 8,434
Likes: 21
I'm pretty sure Apple and Logitech designed automatic faucets and paper towel dispensers.


Not enough memory in Axiom's web server
to list all the Axiom stuff I have
Re: New remote
chesseroo #435325 01/18/20 03:41 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 5
M
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
M
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 5
Originally Posted By chesseroo
I vaguely recall thinking about this some time ago and refresh my memory, weren't URC more time-intensive, needed programming, not a simple database addition for controllable peripheral gear, etc.?


Yes. The programable URC remotes require installer or user programming, and the professional line requires software that you can only acquire (per URC policy), from a registered dealer, or possibly a registered "installer". As with anything, there are workarounds for obtaining the software, but you won't get it from Best Buy. The rationale is that URC wants installers to program the remote, verse DIY'ers, as the assumption is that only professionals can figure out how to program the remote, correctly..... But if I can figure it out, anyone reading this can too. I just have to refresh my memory every time I change a component and have to update the programming.

Granted, the CCP programming software does have a steep learning curve, and if you are not willing to spend several hours (and days), learning how to run it, Harmony would be the better option.

But if you are the type who may get pissed off when your stuck hunched over a sink, trying to get the auto soap dispenser and auto water dispenser to realize you want to wash your hands, in the order YOU choose, with the amount of soap and water YOU want to use...........consider URC.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,493
Posts434,562
Members15,442
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,707
CV 11,918
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 560 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4